We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and welcoming”
Review of South Causey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Causey Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I decided at short notice to take my two grown up daughters to eat here late on monday evening. when we arrived the hotel was very busy, it was the special steak night. The staff actually opened up a .room just for us as there was no where else to sit, thats how busy it was.The room was cozy with its roaring log fire, which was welcoming because it was splashing outside and very chilly, even though its supposed to be May! We were given the menu's, and after going through the extensive choices, decided on the 3 course steak meal. I have to say, my rump steak was cooked exactly how i like it, very rare, and my two daughters said their medium steaks were perfect two. The staff were very attentive without being to pushy. All in all, the food, the staff , the whole atmosphere was very impressive. We all left happy and i left with a lighter purse because i paid the bill. Well, if you cant spoil your kids once in a while, when can you? Plus one day they might decide to put me in a home!, and i'll bring up the time i took them to the south causey inn and paid for all the meal and drinks!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bazmags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 848 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went for a bIrthday celebration meal with family on a saturday evening.

One of the first there.
Meal ordered soon after arrival, but waited well over an hour for main course (even though we ordered well before guests at other tables!)
In fact we seemed to be the last table to be served - with young children attending - not ideal!
Confusion over a simple salad order - offered everything but what we asked for!

Now we know why we got a bowl of pop corn - waited so long for food - we were starving!

Portion size - large main dish accompanied by a floret of broccoli/cauliflower and 2 slices of carrot!
Ordered boiled potatoes...everyone who placed this order were given chips some 10 minutes after main course and veg were served!

Restaurant was full and it soon appeared the staff were struggling to cope.

We dare not ask for plates for the birthday cake we had brought as we may well have been waiting until midnight!

Also...do check your bill as you may be charged for food/meals you did not eat!

A TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT - OVERPRICED FOR WHAT WE GOT.

Won't be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for business purposes a couple of times and I have to say it was a very pleasant experience.

The rooms are comfortable, modern, spacious and well stocked but have still managed to keep ahold of the historic feel.

The restaurant is superb with a wide and delicious selection to suit anyone's tastes. Breakfast is average but if you want something that is not in the buffet then you can request anything you wish from the kitchen.

The staff are friendly, professional and extremely helpful and the management should be proud of them.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely with animals all over the place: just be careful when reversing out in the morning as the chickens tend to run behind cars!

The only thing letting the hotel down is a lack of a fitness/spa facility.

Everything else is perfect and as a person who has stayed in a lot of UK hotels I would say this is probably the finest: better than any city located hotel.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try get one of the external rooms: they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOFF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding in April 2013, we had the budget rooms which are located in the main building above the kitchens and we were told that there may be a bit of noise. It wasn't the noise of the kitchen which disturbed me, it was the rooster making it's 5am wake up call, follwed by the ducks, followed by the donkey......however it was our own fault for not remembering to pick up our wedding favours (which had included earplugs). The surroundings are amazing, Stanley/Beamish area is a beautiful part of the world, particularly in summer and I would most definitely visit again. The hotel was lovely and I have it on good authority from the wedding couple and some lucky guests that the outhouse rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

At less than £8 for a 2 course lunch with carvery main course option you may be a bit apprehensive with "you only get what you pay for" in the back of your mind. Let me tell you that this place is exceptional value for money at a time when eating out is declining for some under the economic climate. Cosy surrounding and attentive staff make it an enjoyable place to visit without breaking the bank. They do afternoon teas as well! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Clarenicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Had heard such good reviews we came to try it, left a little confused as we thought we had been to the causey arch inn. Although we've now been to both this week! But if you don't know the area you could do what we did! Anyways... The service here was fab, the food was in large portions, the price was very good for what we got and the place itself is gorgeous. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee23carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I attended a wedding here on Monday and it was absolutley perfect...the food was delicious, the staff were very attentive and the surroundings were gorgeous. we stayed over at the hotel on the evening and our room was great for the price we paid, we were lieft a lovely hand written welcome note and some orange juice and cookies which was such a nice touch. I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially for a wedding

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beamish Mary Inn
Beamish Mary Inn
#3 of 6 in Stanley
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#5 of 6 in Stanley
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#4 of 6 in Stanley
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Causey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Causey Inn

Address: Beamish Burn Road, Stanley DH9 0RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $366 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Causey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Causey Inn is a friendly welcoming independent hotel situated in the beautiful Beamish Valley.Set in 100 acres, South Causey Inn is an adaptable venue for a host of different events from a family get together, a Wedding to remember, a meeting place for colleagues or a relaxing overnight stay.We also have an adjacent British Horse Society Approved Equestrian Centre, which offers a range of outdoor activities to add a little something different to your day!We are splendidly situated only 6 miles from Durham City and 6 miles from Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Causey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Causey Hotel Stanley
South Causey Inn Stanley, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing