We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...can't wait to come back!”
Review of South Causey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Causey Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Some of my friends are getting married here next year and as we were visiting them, they decided to take us to the South Causey Inn so we could have a look around and have some lunch.

We decided to have lunch first as we were all starving. We were shown to a lovely warm dining room where we were seating close to the bar which was handy for getting drinks we thought. We were given the menus and although the food sounded amazing, the menus looked a little old and tatty and could probably do with updating. We all ordered starters which was probably a mistake because they were huge portions! 3 of us ordered the soup which was lovely. My only criticsm is that we were only given 3 little rolls of bread between all 3 of us. It took us a while to get the attention of a waitress who promptly brought us some more.

I had the burger for my main course which was devine!! However, the portion size was huge again and I felt really bad for having to leave such lovely food! There was also a carvery running at the same time which smelt heavenly!

We then asked if we could have a look round at some of the rooms which my friends will be using for their wedding. This was not a problem at all. 2 members of staff were setting up for a wedding fair and took the time to show us different ways of having the chair covers, the different centre pieces for the tables, different colour schemes, everything! We were there for ages and it was really nice for them to take the time to show us.

We didn't get to see any rooms but if they are anything like the rest of the hotel I can't wait to go back for the wedding!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BirthdayGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 810 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

A fantastic atmosphere.

This hotel is ran by a wonderful family and nothing and I mean nothing is a problem.

The bar staff are wonderful and the food, only one complaint, too much!

Sue and Philip are the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: The new rooms are wonderful especially in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samui33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We ate lunch here on a couple of occasions recently with friends. Both times we were promptly seated in the restaurant and service was swift, friendly but unobtrusive throughout.

We took the £7.95 lunch option that consists of vegetable soup and roll followed by a choice of main courses or the carvery. I chose the casserole of the day on both occasions. Hot food, well enough presented, tasty and well seasoned though the enormous dumpling in the middle might put off some. I certainly couldn't eat more than a small part of it.

Everyone else chose the carvery and all felt that it was good value. It looked to me as though the meat and vegetables were fresher than is often the case with such things.

The decor was interesting. We sat next to what seems to be a head height bronze of a horse and on foot rider! An old typewriter featured on stable nearby!

Overall, good value food well presented in interesting surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked for family Sunday lunch to celebrate my birthday and as a treat we also booked to stay the night. The Sunday lunch was its usual excellent standard, there is great large choice on the menu and the service is spot on. It is a very welcoming place and the staff treat you like you are important and nothing is too much trouble. The room was even better than the lunch. Very tastefully furnished,huge bed, large jacuzzi and superb views. The breakfast was enormous, too much too handle. All in all a great experience and even though you are not far from Newcastle you feel as though you are well away from city life. I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Les_Gateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

booked this hotel for our mini moon break arrived and the staff instantly made you feel welcome. couldnt check in to later on in the day so went to beamish. when got back had a quick check in and was shown by a member of staff to our room. we were in room 16 on first glance was a lovely hotel room but after trying to run a bath the water was freezing and had to phone reception to see if a problem with the water was told to run it for a good 5 minutes which we did but to be honest i had it on the maximum setting and i came out shivering asking my partner how his bath was he said was horrendus. 2ndly the shower screen and the tiling had a lot to be desired as did the blood stains on the really heavy throw on the bed. i understand it was just for the night we stayed but we were kind of disappointed with it to be honest. on the upper hand the toiletries in the bathroom were awesome and smelled lush. now then onto the breakfast it was out of this world. overall i would go back as the staff did all they could to help but maybe a few details in the room could be improved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babyduo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hi every one we have been coming here for the past 4 years for sunday dinner,you cant find anything better or value for money.The family were here for sunday lunch we all had a great time i stayed over night,in one word marvelous our room was FAB jacuzi television in the wall of the bathroom,the room itself was beautiful every thing about it first calss sue and phill made us very welcome and to top it all our breakfast was excellent all in all a great time had by all c u soooon south causeway xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are first class some have views 2 dye for x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloriagateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

nice place, friendly staff. Need more people to take orders at the bar at peak times, far too slow and annoying. Also, meat overlooked and girl serving used her hand and fingers to cut and serve meat! Quite frankly disgusting and not hygienically acceptable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
1.2 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
13.8 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,459 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Causey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Causey Inn

Address: Beamish Burn Road, Stanley DH9 0RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: $133 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Causey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Causey Inn is a friendly welcoming independent hotel situated in the beautiful Beamish Valley.Set in 100 acres, South Causey Inn is an adaptable venue for a host of different events from a family get together, a Wedding to remember, a meeting place for colleagues or a relaxing overnight stay.We also have an adjacent British Horse Society Approved Equestrian Centre, which offers a range of outdoor activities to add a little something different to your day!We are splendidly situated only 6 miles from Durham City and 6 miles from Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your South Causey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Causey Hotel Stanley
South Causey Inn Stanley, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing