We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Blue Bell Inn Stanley's Hidden Gem! Located on Kiphill in Stanley on Beamishburn Road opposite the South Causey. All our food is locally sourced where possible & cooked fresh to order serving traditional pub classics throughout the week & carvery on a Sunday serving a selection of roast meats. Children are more than welcome with outdoor areas for playing, outside seating with great views and large car parking to the rear of the Pub. Our Bar serves a wide selection of drinks including beers, spirits, soft drinks and wines from around the world.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Best place for Sunday lunch in the area. I have never had a bad meal here and Eddie and Stuart are great hosts!

It's best to come around 1.00pm ish, as Sunday dinner is in full swing!

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    93
    46
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fab food, fab service :)”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lovely meal and drinks last night. Excellent value for money and great atmosphere. Great little pub!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if passing by..”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The interior is slightly dated as is the menu however the Blue Bell doesn't portray itself as anything other than a cosy, comfortable Inn serving cosy, comfortable food. The service is very good and Eddie never fails to put smiles on people's faces. The simple food is tasty and well priced. This is a place I would be happy to visit regularly and would urge you to give it a try if you're not after anything too special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank H4wick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food, Great Services - Will be back!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

dined here last night, couldnt have asked for nicer staff or better pub grub. Clean plates all round. Will certainly be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diana12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Myself and my partner had our wedding reception here, and i have to say that not only was the food outstanding, but the service was second to none, from the start Eddie and his staff went out of their way to give us the best experience ever, our friends and family were more than impressed and overall i would highly recommend the bluebell to anyone. The food was so tasty and generous in portion that we simply had to go back for more. I am confident they would be as humbled as we were of the whole experience, so with that we wish to thank Eddie and staff for making our special day one we will never forget.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Consett, County Durham
Stanley, County Durham
 
Prudhoe, Northumberland
Beamish, County Durham
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing