We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday carvery.”
Review of South Causey Inn

South Causey Inn
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

There is a good selection of meats. When i was there you had a choice of turkey beef ham venison. The prices are a little steep but there is no need to order a large carvery a small is perfectly fine. You get the choice of 2 meats then up to you how much veg you put on. I would return and would recommend. But wouldn't go there weekly. Staff very efficent and gave good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl12390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    162
    83
    39
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great food, large portions, but can get quite noisy at weekends”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Been here several times before, and as always opted for roast dinner. I ordered the child's portion and it was certainly adequate for me. The beef was tender with a good array of hot freshly cooked vegetables, and a large Yorkshire pudding. One of the party had fish and chips, which looked delicious, and one had a chicken dish, all very tasty.I liked that the gravy was served separately in a jug. Too often meals are served swimming in gravy which can be offputting. I still managed to drip it onto my cream trousers however!! For any ladies reading this, the ladies loos are excellent, bodyspray, tissues etc available. I always judge a restaurant by it's Ladies room as well as the food and service, and the Causey ticks all the boxes.
The staff are all excellent, some very young but professional, good humoured and eager to please.
The only downside was the "muzak" which was rather loud for our liking.
We are told by our friends who seem to be a fixture there, that the afternoon teas are to die for, can't wait to try them!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 40mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic wedding venue!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

we were here last week for a wedding. it's the 2nd one we've attended at South Causey and both times we have been beyond impressed! fantastic food and service in an idyllic country pub type setting. we took a walk to see the alpacas and to pat the horses after dinner. perfect venue for a wedding, especially with children. cannot. recommend enough!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent English Pub Food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We like this place because it does English pub food really well. Too many either reduce the offering to low quality "ping" food, or go "coulis" mad and get inappropriately pretentious. The South Causey Inn offers a really good range of freshly prepared pub meals, described in a straightforward and unfussy way, so you don't have to take a best guess as to what you'll get, very good sized portions and a good price for what you get. Desserts are also excellent. In addition to the standard pub menu, you also get the occasional special, depending on what's been shot locally in the past few days. We've always found the service good too, informal and friendly. I've noticed that a lot of the negative reviews occur around really busy times, Mothers Day for instance. This is a common feature in the reviews of many places, isn't it?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For those who can cope with huge portions!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was such a friendly restaurant not expensive, good beer and the very best of food. The starters are as big as a man course and three coukd shae a main! Steak Kidney Pie? Awesome!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Causey Inn also viewed

Beamish, County Durham
Stanley, County Durham
 
Beamish, County Durham
Stanley, County Durham
 

Been to South Causey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing