We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Brunswick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunswick House
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a warm welcome and we're shown to a comfortable room. There was plenty of hot water. Dinner was splendid, breakfast excellent and the packed lunch was amazing. We will certainly return. The establishment could not be faulted and provided excellent value.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times in the last fortnight, the same room both times, which is very comfortable but a little snug. Breakfast rivals any large hotel and is beautifully presented. Superbly clean and a very pleasant welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is difficult to fault this B & B. Our party of nine completely took over this house when walking the Pennine Way. The rooms were very good and we had the use of a comfortable lounge downstairs. With exclusive use, it felt rather like a house party and we were able to enjoy an excellent dinner in the dining room as well as making use of the bar facility. Lots of little extras were provided and we really felt at home. You could not but help enjoy your stat here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay here at the end of July. As many previous reviewers have alluded to, what sets Brunswick House apart from the run-of-the-mill guesthouse is the attention to detail. Sure, the rooms may be slightly on the small side but they are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Nothing is too much trouble for Andrew and the packed lunches are brilliant. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Arrived during a torrential downpour on Saturday 22nd June - amazingly impressed to be greeted by the owner/host Andrew with an umbrella to help us not get too wet while unloading. SUPER SERVICE!

Brunswick House is just beautiful - our room was the last available during our stay and was the top floor Twin. The room was small yet perfectly formed with a nice big window allowing the opportunity to see and hear the stream/brook at the rear - really sounded lovely.

Nice touches with toiletries and bathrobes plus fluffy towels.

The only negative was after having a nap I was awoken by someone trying to get into our room - it was Andrew who obviously thought we had gone out - he didn't knock just let himself in - I think he must have been letting himself in to change a light bulb which blew when he showed us into the room. Not really a negative just a little embarrassing for me in my pants and a shocked Andrew.

Breakfast was superior - cooked to order and perfect freshly squeezed orange juice.

We stayed as we were attending a wedding up the road, however we'd definitely choose to stay here again if in the area!

Narrow entrance to car park is fine and follow the instructions of where to park your car and you'll be fine!

Nice having the fridge in room too, WiFi also handy as I had no phone signal.

Stay here if you're exploring the area - just perfect!

Room Tip: We loved our top floor twin but also checked out our friends double on the second floor which looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Big stuff like quality of room was better than an expensive hotel. Little stuff like quality of toiletries, freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast...and of course the real world personal service. Don't splash out on an expensive room in a 4* hotel just stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKeenanClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful stay, beautifully decorated room, very peaceful, all amenities provided, gowns, iron, hair dryer, tea and coffee, home made biscuits and much more! Bathrooms small but perfectly formed! Children made very welcome, high chair available. Breakfast is delicious, fresh. Excellent value for money we will be back! Only one comment, because we have children, black out linings on the curtains, or black out blinds would be a useful addition!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RanDS232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
367 reviews
9.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
231 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
364 reviews
18.8 mi away
High Force Hotel
High Force Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest-in-Teesdale
92 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lily Hill Farm
Lily Hill Farm
#5 of 19 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick House

Address: 55 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: $80 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brunswick House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brunswick House is a charming stone built Teesdale village guest house, dating from 1760, offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation and scrumptious evening meals. The guest house overlooks the Market Place Green in Middleton-in-Teesdale, which is a thriving village set amidst the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Andrew and Sheila have been warmly welcoming guests to Brunswick House since 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brunswick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing