We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stress free break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely 2 night mid week break in this delightful hotel. Room was lovely and loved the stairway to a huge bathroom integrated within our room. The evening meals were fantastic as were the breakfasts. Couldn't fault anything about our stay. Frank is such a warm friendly host and he made our stay extra special by making us feel so special. If you want to get away from the hustle bustle of every day living to unwind and feel pampered in a beautiful part of the U.K . Please go to this great welcoming hotel. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 359 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Warm greeting on arrival, great beer - rivet catcher! Amazing food, haddock croqettes and souffle to start and bass and chicken for mains. Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble. Many thanks to Frank and team for a smashing evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppiepagodaWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just arrived home from the Forresters after a 2 day break, quick check in, friendly service, absolutely gorgeous food. Frank is really friendly host and nothing too much trouble,he sang happy birthday to my husband and served up icecream with a sparkler in it as we were too full to eat desert,lovely surprise ! this is second time we stayed at this hotel and definitely wont be the last.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We'd passed through Middleton in Teesdale by chance in mid-summer and thought it a lovely place. At a loose end for this weekend I looked on Tripadvisor and found this delightful hotel/restaurant/pub.
We booked in for a weekend stay at the end of October and must say we were delighted with our fab find.
We arrived at 18:00 on Friday evening - the pub/hotel was quiet at that time and we were dealt with promptly and in a friendly manner by the owner.
We checked out our room - very quirky, nice and clean - great staircase in our room leading to the bathroom. Straight downstairs for a drink or two to start our weekend off - the beer was very reasonably priced, as were our barmeals. The food was absolutely to die for - probably the best bar food I've had for a long time and fantastically priced. The next time we stay (and we will definitely return) we'll eat in the restaurant.
All in all a highly recommended hotel, a great find in such a lovely location too. Well done the Forresters, we'll be back x

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street and was just lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the minute we arrived until we left The Forresters was a fantastic experience.

The room was fine, nothing to complain about there and very good value at the price we paid.

For us it was the restaurant and lovely staff that made the place really special. The food was of a standard you might expect at a city, and more expensive, top notch place. Wine and ales all perfect. Service exceptionally friendly and warm. :-) Go now!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_neuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We actually checked out of the hotel over the road in favour of the Forresters. On viewing 2 or 3 of the rooms, we liked what we saw and chose a room at the front which was the only one with a good WiFi connection as it was above the office. Great, quirky rooms with their own upstairs bathroom or shower (ours had no door though which was a bit too 'open' for me!). Sophie, who greeted us, showed us around and served our meal, was very personable and a credit to the establishment. The restaurant is very much in the French 'shabby chic' style reflecting the nationality of the owner. Breakfast could be at any time up till 11.00am and - joy of joys - check out was also 11.00am! Makes for a much more relaxing start to a leisurely day. The owner was also happy to chat as it was very quiet. Altogether, a most enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I ate in the Forresters on the 18 september. The meal was excellent, service was very friendly and efficient. The staff took time to chat which in this day and age is unusual. I recommend this restaurant without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TaffCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
71 reviews
9.2 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gentian House
Gentian House
#7 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
5 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#18 of 20 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Force Hotel
High Force Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest-in-Teesdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 52-53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forresters Hotel & French Restaurant in Middleton in Teesdale offers French Cuisine “The Northern Portion” in a restaurant which has the authentic look and ambience of its French counter parts. Enjoy classic French dishes sush as Beef Bourguignon, Magret de Canard, Cheese Soufflé, King Scallops as well as delectable pastries, homemade Ice Cream and homemade chocolates. Watch out also for special nights such as moules frites and crepes. The Forresters also offer a Bar with Pool Table and large Selection of drinks, Lagers, Ciders including some French Cidre, large selection of Spirits and local Real Ales, a large selection of wines & sparkling wines is also available by the glass. Watch out for regular music entertainment Food served Tuesday to Saturday from 12.00pm All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing