We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were booked at this hotel for 2 nights bed & breakfast on a KGB deal and only spent one night there.
We checked in about 2.45pm on a Tuesday and the hotel was freezing cold. Granted this is the middle of winter but its not unreasonable to expect a warm hotel. Apparently the hotel is closed from Sunday pm until Tuesday pm, which probably explains why it was so cold. The bedroom was equipped with central heating and an electric heater but it took more than 2 hours before the room was anything like warm. The “feature” bathroom upstairs from the bedroom was especially cold, so much so that we had to leave the electric heater on all night to ensure that it would be warm next morning. Although the water was hot, taking a shower was a cold experience. It is obvious that cleaning in the bedrooms is not a priority with skirting boards and stair balustrades covered in dust.
That evening we were asked if we were dining in the hotel but the place was still not warm enough to sit and enjoy a meal so we ate out that night. Unfortunately there were no fires lit in the lounge and the dining room was in darkness. The menu we were given is quite different to that shown on the website so be advised. We thought the food prices were quite high with most main course meals over £14 and the steak at £18. I can’t say if vegetables are included with these prices as it wasn’t mentioned on the menu.
The next morning we went to the breakfast room, which was already very cold. To add to this the electric power to the village went off just as we walked in so the supplementary heaters went off. However, we were offered a cooked breakfast and we asked for crispy bacon. We shouldn’t have bothered asking because it came only just cooked. Cereals and orange juice weren’t offered, we had to ask, and then we had to ask for spoons and then for salt for the cooked breakfast. Everything was done half heartedly and seemed too much trouble.
These are just a few of the minor niggles that build up and create a bad impression of the place. We were so disappointed that we decided to leave the hotel after our first nights stay.
Looking at Trip Advisor clearly this hotel has had some praise in the past, but there has been a recent change in management and now there is a great deal of room for improvement in my opinion.
Needless to say we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    78
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
31
246
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable weekend at the Forresters. This is the second time that we have visited - both times on a Groupon deal. We were slightly concerned prior to going as we had heard that the management had changed, and as we had really enjoyed things last time we hoped that the experience would be the same. Why did we worry???. We were greeted in very friendly terms by Nadina, the new manageress and chef. This lady is trying very hard to reestablish the business after taking over at the end of November. She works very long hours and we hope that her efforts are rewarded in the longer term. She is also an excellent chef - we ate in the hotel both evenings and the food was superb, and very good value for money. The hotel rooms are ok but could do with a little bit of a refurb. Its not the Ritz but the rooms and the running water are warm!!. Our room was clean and the bed extremely large and comfortable.
For animal lovers - dogs are welcome., and can come into the bar. They are not allowed into the restaurant.
There is now a pool table in the bar, which has comfy chairs, a good selection of beers and lagers and a wide range of spirits. Liam the barman is a friendly very willing chap who also doubles as a waiter when required. Another mention should be given to Siobhan who is the breakfast waitress and is a bright intelligent chatty girl.
Our ratings are given based on our experience which was excellent. This is a small pub hotel, and we were here in the second week of January - hardly peak season. There is work to be done here but the value for money and the quality of the food are excellent. We will be returning and recommend the pub to all. Expect a good quality pub hotel and that what you get. It is not a 5* Hilton, but it has a charm and personality of its own. We wish Nadina and her team all the best for the year ahead.

Room Tip: The rooms do vary in size - some have baths and some just showers. Enquire when you book as to what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustyroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thanks again Jo and Frank and the team for another lovely stay. Really enjoyed ourselves especially the amazing food. Loved the new layout with the lounging area by the wood burner in the dining room. Eddy & Erica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay. On arrival were greeted by 2 friendly members of staff one showed us to our room which we were most disappointed with it was small, the television was on the window sill and it in general had a tired feeling to it. It also only had a shower. We went and asked if we could change to a room with a bath in the staff were happy to oblige and showed us 2 rooms to choose from. We chose room 4 which was twice the size of the original room with a bathroom upstairs with a bath- very nice!! The room had a problem with the heating but we were given a heater to help with this.
We went to the bar for a drink and to use the WiFi as we were unable to access it in the room. The signal for the free view television was also unreliable so not many of the channels worked.
After an awful nights sleep due to a constant pouring sound from the persistent rain overspilling from the guttering we went down to breakfast. We ordered a full English which consisted of bacon,local produced sausage, fried bread, egg, tomato, black pudding and mushrooms. We asked for the breakfast without tomato, black pudding and mushrooms and when we were presented with it we were very disappointed. On the plate was a chipolata sausage, a small piece of bacon, tiny pieces of fried bread and egg. (wish we had taken a photo). We complained and were told it was a standard breakfast and no one else had complained. It was really disappointing with not getting all the breakfast items maybe we could of got extras of others. Thankfully the following morning this had been taken into account and we did have a bigger better breakfast.
This hotel has so much potential but at the moment all the little things add up and we didn't have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torianjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Welcoming atmosphere with a log fire but my wife and I were the only people eating there in the restaurant at Christmas Eve lunchtime.
Choice of 2 menus - one was a typical country village restaurant price whilst the other was more than the usual price in a pub, which the Forresters is, as well as being a restaurant.
The waitress was very attentive and pleasant.
Since the departure of the French proprietor, the food that we had was certainly up to past excellent standards, and the friendly lady owner/chef says that more local people seem to be coming through their front door nowadays. Also accommodation is still there for overnight guests.
The smart decor is unchanged with French pictures on the walls plus still the one or two railway signs.
We enjoyed our meal and look forward to our return to see how the change is going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had some issues on arrival, but they had worse issues, with emergency plumbing problems compromising their room availability. However they went to the most trouble to get us a comfortably warm room, and it turned out to be the best room in the place. Restaurant food was good quality and a reasonable price - we ate there on one of the evenings.
The place has recently come under new management, and if their grand plans come off it should see the place become really vibrant and well-staffed. As it is, they are currently running short (of staff and money) and things like light bulbs not working let the place down. Breakfast was annoying - had to ask for a bowl for the cereal. Then a spoon. Then sugar for the coffee. Then marmalade for the toast. Little things, but they'll get there. The previous management did the place no favours, so they are running to catch up.
But the manager was fantastic, and we will be back to see how they get on, as the food was really good and the welcome was certainly very warm. Good luck to them! :-)

Room Tip: Room 4 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaDanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a two night stay. Room fine with a quirky upstairs bathroom. New barman Liam gave great customer service. Young lady serving breakfast very pleasant. New manager very chatty and pleasant. Evening meal excellent great quality with perfectly cooked and good selection of vegetables. All in all a good trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martsmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
70 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#19 of 21 in Barnard Castle
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gentian House
Gentian House
#6 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
5 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Langdon Beck
YHA Langdon Beck
#1 of 5 in Barnard Castle
33 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hill Top - Killhope B&B and Cottage
Hill Top - Killhope B&B and Cott...
#2 of 4 in Bishop Auckland
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 52-53 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forresters Hotel & French Restaurant in Middleton in Teesdale offers French Cuisine “The Northern Portion” in a restaurant which has the authentic look and ambience of its French counter parts. Enjoy classic French dishes sush as Beef Bourguignon, Magret de Canard, Cheese Soufflé, King Scallops as well as delectable pastries, homemade Ice Cream and homemade chocolates. Watch out also for special nights such as moules frites and crepes. The Forresters also offer a Bar with Pool Table and large Selection of drinks, Lagers, Ciders including some French Cidre, large selection of Spirits and local Real Ales, a large selection of wines & sparkling wines is also available by the glass. Watch out for regular music entertainment Food served Tuesday to Saturday from 12.00pm All our rooms are en suite with Freeview TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and WiFi access. Our licensed bar is open until midnight every day and our restaurant serves outstanding French style dishes. Dogs and children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forresters Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing