We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed ever”
Review of The Old Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleton in Teesdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Barn
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here during our walk along the Pennine Way so didn't have much difficulty sleeping most nights, but this was the best bed I've ever slept in! Lovely room in the middle of an interesting village, good welcome and an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaTheOldBarn, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your lovely comments. I agree that the beds are very comfortable, indeed having tried them out I got exactly the same for myself when I needed to renew my bed! I hope you really enjoyed the rest of the your Pennine Way journey an experience I would also like to do sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a wonderful warm welcoming hotel. From the moment you walk in the door, you are king!
The beds are really comfy and feather pillows! The rooms are really warm, the shower powerful. In the heart of the village but very quiet.
The only downside was no wifi on offer but then we did not ask. We could hear noise from the room next door but this would not put us off. We are coming back next year.
Linda was the perfect host.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMM22101963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaTheOldBarn, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello and many thanks for your review. I hadnt realised that the info pack in the room doesnt mention wifi, which is available, sorry you made do without. I will be updating the info, so thank you for pointing this out. Hope to see you again soon, Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Old Barn

After having a wrecked Easter holiday at Paddock House Holiday Cottages in the Peak District with no heating, no electricity, no phone contact and the owners away in Disneyland Florida enjoying the sun, we were rather hesitant on booking up another Easter holiday.

But having arrived at The Old Barn we were immediately greeted with a smile form Lynda and the offer for tea and biscuits on arrival.
Parking no problem and the rooms were spotless with new fittings lovely solid oak doors and super power showers in the rooms with LCD TV and hot drinks if needed plus lots of heating in the cold weather.

Situated in the village next to the tourist board there were no problems with pubs or restaurants around the B&B.
A full breakfast was ordered in the morning and oh boy it was full and beautifully presented and cooked by Lynda.
Nothing was too much trouble for her guests and suggested when we went home to stop off at the NT Fountains Abbey which took most of the day walking around. A couple of hours at High Force to see the frozen water and the falls roaring down the side into the river was great fun for the children while we were there.

This has been one of the best B& B places we have stayed in the UK and without any hesitation gets a full 10/10 marks.
Next time we are in the area we will be staying there again.
After having to leave early with other couples at the Paddock House and not getting any form of a refund our faith has been fully restored once again.

Room Tip: All very good and spotless. No need to pick one out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prassky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaTheOldBarn, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, glad to know you all enjoyed Fountains and yes the showers are often commented on; particularly by walkers after a long days hike!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose The Old Barn as it was the perfect midway point between home and our next stopover. The house is well situated right in the village with parking tucked away through the archway. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Lynda with tea and biscuits while she went over arrangements for our stay, including breakfast. Lynda is very friendly and helpful - she looked up the weather forecast for us as we wanted to know whether snow was forecast for the next day!
Our room was small but well appointed and included a dinky ensuite with a fantastic powerful shower! We ate out at 1618 further up the street - which we would recommend for the food and friendly hosts.
How we managed breakfast I'm not sure, but it was all beautifully prepared and delicious.
The surrounding countryside is really beautiful and I'm sure that we'll return to explore the area more fully. If we do, The Old Barn will be the ideal base!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolsEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaTheOldBarn, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Many thanks for your review both of you and hope you enjpoyed the rest of your trip, Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Old Barn doesn't get much better as far as B&B accomadation is concerned. Lynda was the perfect host, friendly and hospitable. The room was spotless and lovely and warm. We were on a bike trip and were cold. The shower was amazing and the water hot. Lynda doesn't do evening meals but her breakfasts are to die for. We ate our evening meal at The 1618 bistro and wine bar next door which was also fabulous and is the subject of a separate review. Lynda doesn't accept card payments but there is a bank just around the corner with a hole in the wall. Middleton In Teesdale was the ideal stopover for our tour. We loved the village and will certainly return to The Old Barn.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which overlooked the small car parking area at the rear of the premises. Very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desert-Prince1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaTheOldBarn, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you both of you for the lovely review and hoping you ride over this way again - maybe in better weather?? Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A real treat, this B&B was an absolute delight to visit.
Lynda couldn't have given a warmer welcome, and is full of knowledge about the local area. She even came out to help me scrape all the ice off my car in the morning, without batting an eye.
Breakfast was really delicious, the room was enticing and very comfortable and the building overall has a real sense of being at home.
I would thoroughly recommend stopping in here for a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Me and my fiancé stayed here last year then seeing his friends who live in the village it's a lovely B and B. beds are lovely and comfortable. Food was lovely and Linda was so lovely. We loved it so much that we are going back next month when coming to see friends again. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
8.6 mi away
Old Coach House At The Golden Lion
Old Coach House At The Golden Li...
#1 of 2 in St. John's Chapel
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hill B&B
The Hill B&B
#4 of 10 in Middleton in Teesdale
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leekworth Caravan Park
Leekworth Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in Middleton in Teesdale
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Address: 12 Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range: $40 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This converted barn in a central location in Middleton in Teesdale has been renovated to a very high standard, providing four star Bed & Breakfast accommodation in farmhouse style decor and really comfortable bedrooms. Your host, Lynda Bares, aims to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible with a friendly atmosphere, good food and drinks, useful information and helpful service. An ideal base to explore the North Pennines. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing