We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teesdale Hotel

Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lanark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

both breakfast and main evening meals were substantial,well presented and great value, we did have a slight problem with one dish but the matter was resolved quickly without hesitation or debate which was refreshing

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KBB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality home cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Freshly made home cooked food. Tasty ample portions. Friendly staff - nothing too much trouble
Plenty of choice, beer garden is very pleasant. Well worth a visit. Will definitely return. Highly recommended. Have not stayed overnight so cannot comment on the rooms

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic Food, Staff cannot do enough for you. Exceptional value for money. Customer friendly hotel, will definitely go back. Highly Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackster1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
2,042 reviews
1,068 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 891 helpful votes
“Food here was excellent but the service was slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Five of us ate here last week. We had been in before for a drink more than a year ago and found the place to be dingy and unfriendly however we had been told it had changed hands and was very good now so we decided to give it a go.

We arrived about 6.45pm. The outside of the Hotel is covered with hanging pots and looked brilliant.The dining room has been refurbished and was clean and light although the bar area still does not feel welcoming and the loos need some work. We sat on sofas whilst we ordered from the fairly extensive menu. Two of us had chops, one the steak pie, one the Sirloin and one an omlette.

We had to wait about 50 minutes for food despite the restaurant being fairly empty initially although I think some hotel guests had ordered whilst sitting in the bar. By the time we left it was quite busy.

The chops, steak pie and sirloin were all excellent and fairly priced. The only criticism was that we were only given one moderate portion of vedgetables between 3 of us and were told we could have more but decided not to as we had wasited so long,

The omlette I thought was overpriced (£9.50 from memory) and I heard another guest complain to the waitress that she would not pay so much for it.

The waitress said that there was only one chef on as the previuos night they were so quiet and she was quite apologetic. The coffee was not great.

Overall I thought this place was very good and would go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very good food. Great selection and well presented. The breakfasts were the best I have had anywhere. Poached eggs perfect and great pots of tea.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank theglasslady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teesdale Hotel also viewed

Middleton in Teesdale, County Durham
Middleton in Teesdale, County Durham
 
Middleton in Teesdale, County Durham
Middleton in Teesdale, County Durham
 

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing