We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Teesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teesdale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very friendly and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Teesdale Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We found out about the hotel through buying a KGB deal and have not been disappointed,we thought all the staff to very hospitable and friendly, and the local people were lovely and welcoming, willing to chat and make conversation with you. We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was good with plenty of choice with specials on the board that changed regularly. Will definately try to return soon, as we relaxed and completely chilled out.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colour0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear colour0191,
It's fantastic to hear that you had a nice time; we love it when people tell us they've left feeling relaxed.
Thanks again for helping us work out our colour scheme for the bar, I hope you'll visit us again so you can check on the results!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    152
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
198
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a fantastic place! Lovely hotel with lovely staff and lovely food. I don't think that we have ever been made so welcome in a hotel.
Teesdale is a fantastic place, we only went for 2 nights and already feel like locals, the people are so friendly.
Lovely part of the world if you like walking and if you are lucky you might even get Dave to draw you a map with military precision!
Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful couple of days, we all enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellievena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kellievena,
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Please come up and see us again; I'll draw you another map!
Regards, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent last weekend at the Teesdale using KGB vouchers. As others have remarked the decor and furnishings are in need of updating. Where improvements have been made e.g dining room , it really shows. Whatever the hotel lacks in facilities and decor it more than makes up in hospitality. We were warmly welcomed by Justin and all the other members of staff were just as friendly and welcoming at various points during our stay.
We ate at the hotel both nights. Although we were disappointed with the steak served, all the other dishes were first class. Special mention for the ginger sponge - to die for !!
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel - for the welcome alone.
Hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Dave M,
Great news that you're planning to visit us again and thanks for your great review!
The bar has been in need of a make-over for a while now; it's the focal point of the hotel and sets the tone, so we're presently refurbishing it to the standard of the restaurant (which we're very proud of) ready for Easter.
Hope to see you soon,
Regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bootle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed a great weekend at the Teesdale hotel, we arrived on a snowy night it was just like a picture postcard, Sally and Dave were so warm and welcoming, we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal in the bar were there was a lovely roaring fire.
The atmosphere was very friendly, the hotel rooms are in keeping with the hotel, the beds were comfortable with really nice clean bedding. Sally gave us a tour of the village later as she was going home, it was really nice that she gave us her time. The next morning we had a lovely cooked breakfast, we asked Dave for directions to the High force, he kindly drew a map which proved to be invaluable and exact. We thank you all at the Teesdale Hotel for a lovely memorable weekend, and my husband really loved the home made apple pie, please pass his thanks to the cook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Frances N,
Thanks so much for having an "excellent weekend" with us! Dot reads the reviews so she's already soaked up your praise for the pie. Hope you'll visit us again, I promise I'll do you another map!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Friendly, welcoming staff (Justin I believe). Food excellent. Town very pretty especially in the snow. The room was nice and I could open the window and turn the heating off. When the refurbishment is complete I'm sure everyone would love the hotel.

Room Tip: Go when it's snowy and everybody cancels so you get upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonsdale134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear lonsdale134,
It is very pretty around here in the snow. It's lovely all year round: in spring the hay meadows are left uncut to let the wild flowers grow, and of course long summer days are great for heading out on long walks and then the autumn colours are spectacular.
Refurbishments are always ongoing; we're a small family run place so we're never going to be able to close up and refit the whole place. It's a very old building with loads of original and often pretty quirky features; we're updating whilst retaining the place's old world charm.
Regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights with three friends. The rooms had been recently refurbished and were very comfortable. The staff could not have been friendlier. The owner recomended a walk and lent us a map. When we got lost, which is very common for us, and ended up in a pub a few miles away we even got a lift back. The area is stunning with its hills and waterfalls and the village is like stepping back a few decades, in a good way, with its old fashioned shops and community. Food was also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Wendy G,
We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and managed to find your way back after getting lost on the fells! Would be great to see you all again; bring a sat-nav!!
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night kgb deal and would return.
As previously reported, the decor and furniture in the hotel are very dated, but the owners are addressing this and have started a redecoration program.
The bar has a good selection of drinks at reasonable prices and serves good home cooked food. Because of this, we ate here both nights and were not disappointed.
If its luxury you want in a bedroom, then dont stay here, but if you want a basic, clean room, with good food and friendly service, the Teesdale hotel is worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davefalconer, Owner at Teesdale Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear heather h,
Great to hear that you would visit us again. Thanks for your great review.
Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton in Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
24.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 8 in Middleton in Teesdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teesdale Hotel

Property: Teesdale Hotel
Address: Market Place, Middleton in Teesdale DL12 0QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Middleton in Teesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middleton in Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Teesdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Teesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing