We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cottage with first class hospitality.”
other travelers have booked this property
Doodale Cottage with parking next to the brick wall.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doodale Cottage with parking next to the brick wall.
Main entrance to kitchen with integrated dishwasher Kitchen with electric oven, hob and microwave.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Doodale Cottage with parking next to the brick wall.
Main entrance to kitchen with integrated dishwasher
Kitchen with electric oven, hob and microwave.
Kitchen with fridge freezer.
Kitchen with door to utility room.
Utility room with washer dryer and downstairs toilet.
Dining Area
Living Area with leather sofa and wood burning stove.
TV and seating in Living Area
Living Area
Open plan ground floor - plenty of space for 2.
Upstairs with balcony
Sleeping Area - king size and twin bed for flexible sleeping arrangements
King size bed with door to ensuite shower room
Shower Room
Shower Room
Upstairs
Front of Cottage
Outside Area
Jazz with calf born in June 2017.
The grass always tastes better on the other side of the fence!!!
Diamond born 13th June 2017
2 of our young cows - Sidonia and Maisie
Our cows and calves love a brush - particularly under the chin.
We have a variety of wildlife in our trees and hedgerows.
Our wild deer can often be seen grazing our fields.
Hay making at Barr Farm
Harvest time at Barr Farm
The Wentworth Arms - just 160m from Doodale Cottage
The Royal Oak - 400m from Doodale Cottage.
Old Malton
Old Malton Church
Old Malton
Malton
Malton
The North Yorkshire Moors Railway starts at Pickering.
Whitby
Whitby on a cold and sunny November day.
Castle Howard is just 7 miles away
Hole of Horcum on the North York Moors
Rosedale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage with first class hospitality.”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Superbly presented cottage with everything you need for a relaxing break, wit a loverly wel come pack. The location is convenient for many local attractions for day trips, nice walks and a local pub, serving food, within walking distance. I would reccommend this cottage and we hope to visit again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinj28...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Recently stayed at Doodale and we were very pleased with the cottage. Well equipped with quality equipment through out. Lovely touches on our arrival from the owner who was waiting to meet us and show us around.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again if we were in the area in the future

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality conversion that is well looked after
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnDanny
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place great position!”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived there on Monday afternoon. Sally welcomed us and gave us the tour of the cottage. Everything was there ready for us just to move in. There was milk, fresh eggs from their own hens, wine and home made cake. Perfect!
Although the cottage does not have a view.... It mattered not.
So close to some beautiful places and a great walk also around the farm and surrounding countryside.
We also got to see the international space station on a very clear night.
Would recommend this lovely cottage in a heart beat.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire. Love an open fire on a chilly night.
Liked least: No DVD player.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, superb cottage..... will book again”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for 5 nights end of Sept, had a great week in this superb converted small barn. Great credit to owners Roger & Sally, we could not fault anything.
Without repeating what has already been stated in previous reviews we would recommend Doodale cottage and will book again when in the area again.
Thanks Sally for allowing us to share your lovely cottage.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and Cosy super cottage
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 6 night stay at Doodale Cottage.
The cottage is 5* plus. Very clean, modern and spacious. Had everything you could need for a holiday. We only cooked once as we ate out the rest of the time, but the kitchen was well equipped with everything you may need.

We arrived to some delicious cakes and strawberries, a bowl of eggs from the farm, some mink and a bottle of wine which was a lovely touch.

The bed was super comfortable and we both had a great night sleep every night. The bathroom was clean with a fantastic shower.

The cottage is in a great position to reach all the attractions. Only a short drive to the York park and ride that takes you into the centre, only 10 minutes to Castle Howard and Yorkshire Lavender and not too far to get to Whitby, although some of the roads through North Yorkshire Moors are a little steep when you are used to flat Norfolk!

I guess the only downside to the cottage location is that it doesn't benefit from any views but for us this wasn't a problem.

We will definitely stay at this cottage again if we ever come back to Yorkshire in the future!

Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the cottage
Liked least: The view.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapman201...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful week at Doodale Cottage. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and it was fascinating being in a place that is rooted in history whilst being a current and working farm. Roger and Sally were excellent hosts and had anticipated just what we needed for a comfortable stay. The location for us was ideal as we wanted to visit York, the North York Moors and the coast, whilst enjoying the facilities of a good town nearby. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clelia196...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a'six star' cottage full of character, convenience and cosy comfort”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the moment we arrived, we loved our stay in Doodale Cottage in Old Malton. It was full of welcoming treats - freshly made ginger cake for us to have with our cup of tea, a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge and fresh eggs from the farm's hens. Sally met us on arrival and explained how everything worked and said that she was available for a tour of the farm or if we wanted any information.

The clever renovation/reconstruction of the old barn is a work of art with every convenience and comfort while the farm house character has been maintained. The king sized bed on the mezzanine level is firm and comfortable and the ensuite bathroom has an excellent shower with extra thick towels. There is a third bed if needed. Doodale is excellently equipped in every way and has very sharp knives - a great advantage. It also has a good selection of books.

There are two pubs within two blocks of the cottage. It is just over a mile from Malton and its market, shops, pubs and restaurants. It can which be reached by car or a pleasant walk along the river.

Old Malton is a 20 minute drive from the York, Park and Ride. It's within easy reach of The North York Moors and Whitby and Scarborough on the coast. Castle Howard is a ten minutes drive away.

I highly commend Doodale Cottage for anyone who wants to walk on the moors, visit historical York, tour the North Yorkshire coast or just relax and read.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, comfortable, clean, position
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing