We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,586)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveler rating
1,020
346
135
61
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,020
346
135
61
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james martin drawing room afternoon tea country house lovely hotel four poster bed pudding beautiful room for sunday lunch lamb north yorkshire roll top bath evening meal an overnight stay no lift booked a table our wedding anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Went for a spot of lunch today (a Tuesday) and was bowled over by the service, delicious souffle and goats cheese salad, ambience. Everything was faultless. Bloody well done. Will be back. What an experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank scottioyeahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDrydenGM, General Manager at The Talbot Malton, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Good Afternoon

Thank you, for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed the food and the ambiance.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Stayed for 2 nights at New Year accompanied by our black labrador. We all had a wonderful time. Nothing too much trouble from the start. Very welcoming hotel, lovely spacious bedroom and bathroom with great products. Staff very welcoming and helpful and worked really hard to make the stay go well. Loved the decoration downstairs and choice of rooms to eat in and general ambience of the hotel which was relaxed and comfortable. I loved the breakfast selection with home made granola including a contraption to do your own boiled eggs. My husband would have preferred a choice of cooked breakfast but this was at extra cost which he did choose and was very good. Also ate in the bar one evening and food and service very good. Great to have large gardens to walk in and exercise our dog and chat to other guests which was a nice touch. Location of hotel also great to walk around Malton and visit the cafes and restaurants nearby. Will be returning.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank thehalewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDrydenGM, General Manager at The Talbot Malton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Good Afternoon

Thank you for such a glowing review, it was a pleasure to meet you.

I am so happy you had a fantastic stay and your New Year stay was a success, I will make sure all the staff read your review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in 2020.

Kind Regards
James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

My partner and I had a lovely champagne afternoon tea for two. The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble we were even given a choice of room we would like to dine in. A lovely Atmosphere and a room with open fires what more can anyone ask for on a cold January evening. The sandwiches were freshly made in really fresh bread, warm scones served with jam butter clotted cream, and 3 lovely desserts. A lovely start to 2020.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jenwen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDrydenGM, General Manager at The Talbot Malton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Good Afternoon Jen

We are so glad you enjoyed your Champagne Afternoon Tea, it's lovely to read you had a great time and that the staff looked after you so well.

Kind Regards
James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Thank you for a thoroughly lovely one night stay! Warmly welcomed, and taken to a beautiful room. Such a fab bath and great full size products - super relaxing. Appreciated the vogue & conde Nast traveller magazines in the bedroom. Lots of rooms to eat in; we went for the restaurant. Charming service - not too quick, not too slow. I had game pie with mash & kale and finished the lot! Brilliant waterfall shower with endless hot water and then a really delish breakfast. I am very happy without a full English and there was loads of choice - yummy yoghurt with chia seeds and compote, lots of different breads, pastries, juices, meats and even a machine so you could make your own boiled eggs!
Great break, looking forward to coming back! Thanks to all the lovely staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MarymaryDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDrydenGM, General Manager at The Talbot Malton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Good Afternoon Mary

Thank you for your review of the Talbot.

Its fantastic for the team to read such a glowing review for all their hard work over the festive period. We are really trying to make the Talbot a home from home and it seems we are really getting there.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2020.

Kind Regards
James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic Christmas lunch , well done to the staff who were excellent throughout the meal , nothing was to much trouble , would definitely recommend and will certainly be booking for next year.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ellen0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDrydenGM, General Manager at The Talbot Malton, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Good Afternoon Ellen

We are so happy you had a fantastic lunch on Christmas day, it's great for the staff to read such a positive review to all their hard work.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
James

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews