We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely birthday treat!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My partner had purchased a Groupon voucher for an overnight stay at the Talbot hotel and the tasting menu in James Martin's restaurant in the evening as a birthday treat - this was already excellent value but when he informed them it was my birthday we were offered a complementary upgrade to one of their suites on top! As you can imagine the suite was excellent - more room than we new what to do with and a wonderfully luxurious bathroom. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable - really nothing at all I can criticise. Dinner again was really excellent, the wreckfish course and smoked white chocolate desert warrant particular note, and we opted for the accompanying wine all of which again were very good. The staff in both the hotel, bar and restaurant were superb - polite and attentive without being intrusive. The only possible criticism of the stay is that it would have been nice to know a little more about both the food and accompanying wine, but this is such a minor point it is barely worth mentioning - it was a thoroughly lovely birthday treat!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy3183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Amy3183,

Thank you very much for your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and in particularly the service from the staff and also the food.
We all hope to be able to welcome you back to The Talbot soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    284
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
128
885
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just spent the weekend at the Talbot Hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was amazing, especially the bacon butty at breakfast. The hotel is very dog friendly which we loved. We will definitely stay there again. We had a very different experience to some of the negative comments listed in the reviews.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewbyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear reviewbyclaire,

Thank you very much for your recent review, it is very kind of you to praise the team so highly and we are all delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much.
We have always welcomed dogs here and have plenty of grounds for them to enjoy themselves around!

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel has been given a thorough and very successful upgrade such that the building and the experience are excellent and luxurious. Food great too and is "overseen" by James Martin. Not cheap but value for money. Really enjoyed romantic weekend there and would go again. Location good for Castle Howard, York and other places and as always Yorkshire is scenic and full of character.

Top tip would be to book in at restaurant before booking hotel as very busy and if eatinbg there is one of the main reasons for going, check first. I did a week in advance and we were offered 6.30 and 9.00 pm so clearly gets booked up and I know another traveller who didn't check didn't get a table.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markonemillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Markonemillion,

Thank you very much for your recent review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is right that one should book a table for our restaurant when making a room reservation, as the weekends do get very popular!!

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary break on 21-23 December and we throughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere is perfect, staff are attentive and very friendly. The restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere to it, fine dining without the fuss. The food is devine and cooked to perfection from the evening meal right through to breakfast. Well worth a visit, and we shall be going back at some point. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Malton rooms are lovely and big, with good spacious bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tara R,

Thank you for your recent review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just returned from a Christmas Break in Yorkshire and we had Boxing Day Lunch at The Talbot.
After really looking forward to it we we're so disappointed! As we arrived we were very impressed with the lovely building and grounds albeit it was a bit foggy. But on entering we found there was absolutely no festive atmosphere at all- the bar was a very dull place and the Dining room was chilly.We had a drink in the bar and ordered our lunch and was left the wine list. Nobody came back to take our wine order, so we ordered it from the waitress who was taking us to the table.After 5 minutes she reappeared to tell us they didn't have that particular wine( a 2004 Claret). So we reordered another one, which appeared when we were 2/3rds into our starter. The chestnut soup was quite tasteless,the mackerel was ok,but tiny,the warm vegetables was ok.but minuscule. We all had the roast beef which was excellent. However,on the plate were 3 almost raw( not al dente!) sprouts, 3 pieces of carrot,over cooked and 3 pieces of quite hard roast potatoes,all just warm. One would expect a separate dish of vegetable selection in a place such as this. We weren't offered any sauces and had to ask when we could get anyone's attention for some horseradish. The pepper mill wasn't functioning but instead of replacing it the waitress dismantled it in front of us to show us it was full of peppercorns,then had to replace it anyway as it still didn't work.We didn't bother with a desert,just had coffee. Our plates stayed on the table for a while after we'd finished and the waitresses came and started to clear the empty tables before ours. We were the last to leave the dining room and didn't see any Staff for quite a while before that. We left the dining room,took our own coats off the rail outside and left without seeing anybody,nobody said goodbye or Thank you, nothing! The Staff we're quite friendly when we DID speak to them,but the service was poor.

We love James Martin and his food, and was amazed that he's put his name to a place like this!
For a bill of £170.85pence for 4people and just 2 courses we felt we could have had a good roast beef lunch in a lot of decent pubs in North Yorkshire for much less and a far better service. Sadly we"ll not be returning there. Spoilt our Christmas break!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrietrayhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear barrietrayhurn,

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to see that we did not seem to get your visit to us quite right and on what was a pleasantly busy day for us at The Talbot, it was a shame for you all that we got some things wrong.

We would love you to return as stated in our contact with you and hope to win back your favour upon your next visit.

My kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is an excellent addition to Malton hotels and the re-furbishment has resulted in a high quality experience. Customer service is excellent and the lounges and bars are so relaxing. Wish I could stay more often!

Room Tip: I had a room near the bar which was slightly noisy during the evening, but not for long
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanjoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Janjonottingham,

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much and especially the service from all of the team.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

To sit by the log fire with a glass of wine reading the newspapers and magazines was wonderful after a hectic Christmas. The staff are all charming and efficient and obviously delighted people are staying at The Talbot. Food is perfection including breakfast. Shoud i suggest anything to beimproved upon it would be provision of dressing gowns and 2 room keys. So tranquil and smooth running I felt my one night stay had been 2.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glencora65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Glencora65,

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Talbot and especially the service from all of the team.
We do normally provide bath robes in all of our rooms, but over the festive period we did experience a few delivery issues with some of our laundry and I hope it did not have too much of an impact on your overall stay.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
520 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,595 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing