We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were looking for a couple of days of luxury to celebrate 45 years of marriage and as a prelude to my wife going for spinal surgery a week later. The food was wonderful, the restaurant service excellent, wine-list good, if a shade pricey.
Overall the hotel met our expectations and fulfilled our needs, despite the heat-wave in a hotel without air-conditioning (not normally a necessity in Yorkshire).
Our room was excellent, but had to be rejected as the stipulated walk-in shower was missing. As they were fully-booked we had to accept a smaller room with a smaller bed. I felt the problem was mine rather than the hotel's and was not reflected in a price reduction as we were taking advantage of their Anniversary deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandlizhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Philandlizhunt,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it very much appreciated. Our very best wishes go with your Wife and we do hope that you come back and see us again when she is feeling up to it.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for The Talbot Hotel Malton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our last stay at The Talbot was in the mid 1980s, and we very much approve of the renovations. Lovely room on the 2nd floor, superb 5 course tasting menu, and deal via Secret Escapes also included tickets to Castle Howard. A wonderful stay, wish we'd booked for longer.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms at back of hotel have a lovely view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear RFE1,

Thank you very much for your kind words of praise, we all hope to see you again soon.

If you enjoyed our Secret Escapes Deal, we will always be happy to put together your very own ''Bespoke'' package for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My visit to the Talbot was a treat ! I'm a big fan of James Martin ....hotel lovely ..accommodation fab ..a great start .... Then dining room !!! ! placed between door way and kitchen door ...with other tables in a better position empty for the rest of the evening ...not a good start .. Staff young! poorly trained ....dining room often left empty of any one .!!!! But the diners,!!! ... Wine spilt down both glasses ...not changed / no apology ...food. Tasted of nothing but salt ...very very disappointed will not return or recommend to my foodie friends ....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Helen B,

We are really disappointed to read your review, I feel you have not had a true reflection from us during your visit and I will contact you directly.

Kind regards.

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked through secret escapes for an over night stay and the taster menu. We couldn't fault the room or the hotel itself. Room very spacious and a very comfortable bed. We were looking forward to the taster menu, both been foodies.
We had a very nice pre dinner drink in the bar. We were given the worst table in the house just through the main door. Other tables were free and remained free throughout our meal.The wine was spilt when it was poured. The 5 course taster course did not live up to expectations. Beetroot meringue with a goats cheese mousse,was very different. The 2nd course was north sea halibut very dry and well overcooked. My lamb was very rare but edible where as my partners was full of sinew. Sweetbreads a first and last for me. The two desserts were nice but not outstanding. We thought the standard of service was poor. Two very young girls. Not once were we asked if the meal was ok. It must have been obvious from my partners untouched lamb that things were not right. For a hotel/restaurant with it's reputation we both thought there should have been a senior person/maitre d' in charge especially on a busy weekend.
What made matters worse was I had booked my parents in for their golden wedding anniversary last night. Knowing the menu would not be to their liking, I asked if it was changed. No its the same 5 courses that James Martin had devised. They however said my parents could eat off the regular menu. This was not however the case. There was also another customer complaining about their food they had been served, when my parents checked out!

Room Tip: Not facing the road. The windows are the old sash type with a secondary window to stop the noise. On...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orchardmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Orchardmews,

I was very disappointed to read your recent review and will contact you directly.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have been visiting The Talbot with my father since it reopened and always found it quite nice. Unfortunately on the last occasion our meal was very, very poor. It's just so disappointing, a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting and with so much promise. We both ordered fish gougons from the bar menu, they were very overlooked and very dry with a tasteless green dressing. We did mention this to the waiter who removed them from our bill without argument which was the right thing to do, I just feel sad that such a place thought that it was alright to serve it in the first place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SM123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear SM123_12,

I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your fish main courses.

I can see that you have been here before and enjoyed yourselves and would like you to call me directly the next time you are planning a visit.

I would be delighted to oversee your booking personally. Our number at The Hotel is 01653639096.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were recommended the food in our local, delightful town of Malton, North Yorkshire, during our recent stay in a fantastic holiday apartment. our hosts told us of the excellent value to be had there on Thursday evenings. We are committed self-caterers (and may I say utterly delighted by the local produce of this glorious area) but decided to eat out on our final Thursday evening. Well. it was marvellous. . .half a lobster, new potatoes and a bottle of wine for two for £25. The ambience was lovely, service really good. This was our experience of the hotel, we were not residents; but everything we observed would encourage us to return. Well done, a fine kitchen here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear MaryM,

Thank you very much for your review, it is very kind of you to let us know how much you enjoyed yourselves.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at The Talbot in 2012 for our first wedding anniversary. We cannot fault anything about our visit (only, my wife would have liked to meet the Chef de Patron) The rooms where excuisite with enormas proportions and lavish fittings. Wonderful food and friendly, welcoming staff.

Room Tip: They are all good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam9215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Adam9215,

Thank you very much for your review, it is very kind of you to let us know how much you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
531 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
562 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing