We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good hotel but they need to take note of constructive criticism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“It's a good hotel but they need to take note of constructive criticism”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've given this hotel a 4 but only just, and that was largely on the basis of the room. I have read some recent reviews before writing this and I see that there are some rather defensive remarks from the GM. The fact is that things are not perfect but let's start with the positives. The bedrooms have been very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was not too hot, a problem in may hotels. I think the room tariff is reasonable value for what you get. Service was generally friendly and efficient.

I guess that the dining room is fuller at the weekend. When only 10 people are dining mid week, the place is a bit soulless. The lighting is too strong. It would be better with more candles and the main lights turned down. I became so irritated by the same 1930s tape reeling round that I asked for it to be changed. Apparently the owners say to the staff it is this or nothing. I preferred nothing. The food is quite good but nothing had the wow factor. A quail special should have featured both of the breasts in my view. They are very small and you are paying £33 for 2 courses, now that the prices have been increased by 10%. When it came to coffee, decaffeinated coffee was not available, not even instant. If that was poor, the situation had not been rectified by breakfast. The cooked breakfast was not cooked to order. Even at 7.45am the bacon was frazzled and the only freshly cooked items were the eggs, (poached and fried cooked to perfection I should add).

It is a clean hotel but do they have to start vacuuming the carpets in the hallway outside the restaurant whislt you are having breakfast? I don't think so.

All in all a bit disappointing, especially as it was our 25th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear hpbeebie,

Thank you for your detailed feedback and comments following your recent stay.

We all take on board your remarks and will be looking the finer points of what you have said.

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to let us know your thoughts and we all hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards.

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    284
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
126
885
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on the 22nd April for our wedding anniversary , upon Arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a feature room at no extra cost which was great. The check in was quick and the staff were very efficient and friendly , The room which we were allocated was the Lambton, this was a truly exceptional room, a fantastic bathroom with original features plus complementary luxury toiletries. In the bedroom a super kingsize bed with top class bedding and very spacious and if that wasn't enough a great view over the gardens.
That night we had dinner in the Restraunt this was from the James Martin menu which was absolutely delicious , we also had a bottle of champagne which we purchased in the anniversary deal for £1 yes £1 this finished the evening off in style . Overall this was a truly a five star experience.
The staff we met whilst we stopped there were very friendly and were very customer service focused which makes this a great and pleasurable place to stay
we will be returning .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrscuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mrscuda,

Thank you very much for your generous praise following your recent stay with us.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and hope that we will be seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel very welcoming, all the staff were attentive, professional, yet still down to earth.
Our check in and out was smooth, they did try to charge us for our room on checkout and we had already paid prior to arrival, it was corrected without any issue.
Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable, tea & coffee was available 24 hours free of charge via room service. It was easy enough to order tea/coffee for your room and we didn't wait too long for it to arrive, however I can't decide whether I like this or not, I missed being able to make myself a drink whenever I wished.

The lounge area was again very comfortable & welcoming, with lovely open fires, reading materials and you can order without charge tea and coffee. The bar and conservatory areas were all very nice and again we received good service.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening, we found the food to be excellent, the portions looked small initially but I couldn't of ate anymore than i was served, and it did allow us to enjoy all three courses. I was certainly pleased that we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant and would definitely recommend booking a table.

If I needed to visit this part of Yorkshire again I wouldn't hesitate to book a room at the Talbot.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosevicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Rosevicky,

Thank you very much for your recent review, it was very nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ok so there isn't really much of a reception per se, just a desk where you check in, but from the moment you pull up outside you get the impression the owners have invested a lot of money into this hotel and restaurant. The place is very plush, and the furnishings are all top quality. Everywhere is indeed immaculate.

The bedroom was lovely, as was our bathroom. The service staff are all friendly yet efficient, and the food is delicious. Couldn't really fault anything, and wouldn't want to. A very pleasant night away in a lovely part of the world. We will hopefully return at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rOjU_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear rOjU_10,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in a Norton room overlooking the car park and views of the river to the left. We were on the top floor and no noise could be heard overall. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean, warm on arrival. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable, the room was well appointed with the usual facilities, but excludes a tea and coffee tray which you need to call each time you require it. It made us quite uncomfortable. Our evening meal was good, the produce was fresh and tasty and beautifully presented. Portions on the lighter side but this enabled us to enjoy all three courses. The dining room is bright and spacious. All of the waiting staff were pleasant and attentive. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift so may be difficult for those less mobile if you do not request a room on a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Skater - babe 12,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are all delighted that you seemed to enjoy your stay and found The Talbot enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friends and I went for afternoon tea on a saturday and although the food and hotel was good, the service was disappointing.

When we arrived, the receptionist was neither welcoming nor friendly and just pointed that we could go either into the drawing room or bar for afternoon tea. So after wondering further into the hotel, we found and sat in the drawing room, waiting for someone to say hello and offer us a menu. After a short while, No one came so I wondered across the hall into the bar area and noticed that there was a more pleasant space.

We decided to move across to this space and still at this point, no member of staff noticed that a group of 5 people were wondering around, obviously unsure where they were supposed to be going. We sat down and again waited for 5-10 mins with no one coming to greet us, we were tempted to turn round and ask the next table how to order food or receive service. In the end, I got up and walked to the bar which had no staff, I walked to reception, no staff, then after almost stepping into the kitchen by the restaurant I found two members of staff. After explaining that we had made a reservation for afternoon tea but no one had even come to say hello, they promptly gave us menus. After ordering, the food and drinks arrived promptly and was lovely but during the meal, it was difficult to attract the attention of the staff as they would walk back and forth through one 'private' door to another without looking at us (or the other table) to check to see if we needed anything else.

After finishing our meal, again I had to go and search for a member of staff for the bill as no one came to see if we had finished or needed anything else. It became rather tiresome, searching for staff.

We dine out a lot, from small cafes to michelin starred restaurants and have been to James Martin's restaurant in Alea which was very pleasant but we were very disappointed with the service at The Talbot. It felt like there was a shift change and staff were just not paying attention to customers or even acknowledging they were there. Maybe this laid back service is suitable for hotel residents that know where everything is but surely you would ensure that non hotel residents were also provided with appropriate service?

When we left, (which i'm sure we could have done without paying and anyone noticing) no one was even in reception to say goodbye. Overall, this experience was a real shame; we are fans of James Martin and therefore hope you are able to improve on your service so that his reputation is truly reflected at The Talbot Hotel establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmeliaM405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear AmeliaM405,

We were sorry to read your comments following your recent visit to us for afternoon tea. We certainly set our service standards highly and this was not our usual form. Please contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss the matter further, but in the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies for not getting your afternoon tea service right.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just had a overnight stay at The Talbot as a belated christmas present, everything was first class, staff very friendly and accomodating, the food was excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel of this calibre, the room was beautiful, very clean and the bed was so comfortable, will certainly go back again.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the river, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldhamer.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Oldhamer.4

Thank you very much for your comments, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your Christams present so much!

We all hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
518 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
13.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing