We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

As somebody who stays at The Talbot regularly, I'm afraid I have to agree with ScarboroughWiz that the restaurant menu is limited and never changes from one month to the next. A bit more variety/depth of menu would be welcomed, and would encourage me to eat at the hotel more, instead of finding local alternatives. Also a bit of variety of music when dining wouldn't go amiss - the constant playing of the same 1930's CD morning, noon and night becomes a little tiresome.

Service varies wildly from excellent to poor, depending upon who is working. It is not uncommon to have to go looking for member of staff when you want to check-in or pick up your key. The hotel employs many young members of staff, which is not a bad thing, but it often feels as though there is little of no management of the youngsters, and the customer service suffers as a result.

The rooms and communal areas are generally of very good standard and compare extermenly favourably with the local competition.

In summary the Hotel is generally very good, but the restaurant menu needs improving and a bit more supervison of the younger members of staff is needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasewater_Grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Chasewater_Grove,

Thank you for your feedback, we have gone through your comments together as a group and have found them most helpful.

I am still at a loss to explain the remark that the young staff are left unsupervised, as we always have a Duty Manager on site, usually a Restaurant Manager, a Bar Manager and a specific Breakfast Supervisor.

Occasionally, the girls may be away from the front desk at reception if they are helping with a guest, or taking care of a request. There is always a full time receptionist on duty, so again, I feel your comments a tad harsh.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts concerning our menu and as many other Hotel Restaurants, we change ours every quarter with the changing seasons. The next being May.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a great weekend here. Staff and service where spot on. The refurb has been done in a very high standard, and we could not fault our room. The food every night was very good. Good location, just needs a swimming pool

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapps960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear tapps960,

Thank you very much for your generous words of praise, we all very much appreciate it.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 6 th and 7th April, we were celebrating our 40 th wedding anniversary and we wanted something a little bit special, and we were not at all disappointed. Our room was superb,overlooking the river and the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and we really enjoyed siting by the fire after a long walk. We had dinner both evenings and loved the food, if you want huge portions as another reviewer commented on, there are plenty of pubs to go to in the area. We had a lovely young lady serving us both nights and we found all the staff very friendly. We felt we really had a very special weekend and would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Maureenandgeoff,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I was also very pleased how much you enjoyed our food offering, not just once, but twice!!

You are correct to say that we do not pile the plate up, like most restaurants these days, but there are many places around for our guests to go to if they fancy something different!

We all hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

There is very little I can add to the excellent report by Sophia, who must have been there at the same time that we were, as I agree with almost all she says, the place is good but just not quite right. They need to join up the dots.
I will add one or two things. It was very cold weather and yet the hotel was warm and comfortable, except in the bathroom. In a building with walls several feet thick in places the wifi broadband was excellent everywhere. Most of the staff were competent and helpful, but if you like Dry Martini cocktails, make your own.
Public rooms are large elegant and comfortable, and there are plenty of newspapers. Outside there is a lot of open land and some very pleasant south facing seats sheltered by a wonderful wall, where you can sit and watch the trains in the distance.
I found the food disappointing verging on much worse. I don’t know how often the chef is there, but the menu never changes and is very limited. They are unable to offer any alternative in the Restaurant. I could not find a main course I liked the look of and so paid £30 for a starter and a pudding, neither of which was worth bothering with. We were there for four days, but dined in only once. We asked to see the next night’s menu, but found it was the same. It never changes. Even on line it is the same.
It could so easily be very much better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScarboroughWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Scarborough Wiz,

Thank you for your constructive comments following a recent visit to The Talbot.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy our food offering, but as you can see by the other few hundred reviews that we have had over our first year of trading, most of our guests seem to love it.

As with any other business in the land, you simply cannot please everyone that comes through your door.....But rest assured, we try our very hardest to make all our guests happy, comfortable, well looked after and pampered.

Kind regards.

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a couple of nights here on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and overall found it a very good experience, although with a few issues that stopped it being really great.
Our bedroom was large (mid range room) and had a lovely big, comfortable bed and plenty of storage. We also had a full bathroom with a very powerful 'rainfall' shower, smart granite floors and sink unit. The bathroom was however not very warm due to the large single-glazed sash window which was unfortunately alongside the bath/shower and let in the unseasonably cold air. The road noise was also very obvious in the bathroom although hardly at all in the bedroom due to extra secondary glazing and very thick curtains. Would be a problem in the summer if you needed to open the window to keep cool as it is quite a busy road.
The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good (expect 'cheffy portions' not 'Yorkshire' helpings) but the short menu was the same on both nights for all courses. I think I would have struggled to choose something else I fancied if it had been the same again on a third night. The 1920's /30's soundtrack lost it's attraction when the same songs came round again at breakfast!
Breakfast was unremarkable I'm afraid. My bacon was quite tough and the black pudding a bit dried out on one side the day before, also far more apple than anything else in the fruit salad. It was fresh fruit salad though and the orange juice was very good quality. I'm being picky because this is not a cheap hotel so I think everything should be really good quality.
Most staff were friendly and very helpful but a couple were quite offhand which was a shame. Maybe some more staff training is needed to make sure that everyone understands that excellent service is what people remember, and what makes them want to come back?

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is away from the road and has extensive views over the river and countryside b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Sophia North York,

Thank you for your detailed feedback,

Secondary glazing is currently being fitted in the bedrooms and bathrooms that require it.

We have discussed your other points as a team and thank you for your helpful comments.

We all hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On arrival we where not made to feel very welcome by the young lady on reception,we did wonder if it was because we were "living social guests", but thankfully everyone else were superb. I asked for a walk in shower as I have mobility problems, this was allocated to us but sadly it was on the 2nd floor and no lift. They apparently do have a disabled room but the manager informed us he only uses it in an emergency as it is by the bar and VERY noisy. The trip up 2 floors was more than worth the energy when you see the walk in shower I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The food was excellent and is advertised as a James Martin restaurant but apparently he only appears about once a month. I would recommend the Talbot to anyone wanting to stay in the Malton area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Penny06_11,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Our local team of receptionists are usually very cheery, so I am sorry if we had a wee blip on that front.

I do remember talking to you concerning our disabled room, because it is situated at one end of the house, at weekends it can get quite busy and I always like to upgrade guests whenever possible. I do hope you enjoyed that.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed our food offering and we all hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, very good service and attention to detail throughout. Food was impressive using local produce. Room was lovely, even though we were road side, we could not hear the road. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Jill H,

Thank you for your very kind words, they are warmly received by us all.

We are all delighted that you would not hesitate to recommend The Talbot to other people, as a fairly new business, we welcome all people's comments and remarks.

We hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
541 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
570 reviews
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range: $139 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing