We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbot Hotel Malton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 6 th and 7th April, we were celebrating our 40 th wedding anniversary and we wanted something a little bit special, and we were not at all disappointed. Our room was superb,overlooking the river and the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and we really enjoyed siting by the fire after a long walk. We had dinner both evenings and loved the food, if you want huge portions as another reviewer commented on, there are plenty of pubs to go to in the area. We had a lovely young lady serving us both nights and we found all the staff very friendly. We felt we really had a very special weekend and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Maureenandgeoff,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I was also very pleased how much you enjoyed our food offering, not just once, but twice!!

You are correct to say that we do not pile the plate up, like most restaurants these days, but there are many places around for our guests to go to if they fancy something different!

We all hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    264
    88
    38
    8
See reviews for
119
844
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

There is very little I can add to the excellent report by Sophia, who must have been there at the same time that we were, as I agree with almost all she says, the place is good but just not quite right. They need to join up the dots.
I will add one or two things. It was very cold weather and yet the hotel was warm and comfortable, except in the bathroom. In a building with walls several feet thick in places the wifi broadband was excellent everywhere. Most of the staff were competent and helpful, but if you like Dry Martini cocktails, make your own.
Public rooms are large elegant and comfortable, and there are plenty of newspapers. Outside there is a lot of open land and some very pleasant south facing seats sheltered by a wonderful wall, where you can sit and watch the trains in the distance.
I found the food disappointing verging on much worse. I don’t know how often the chef is there, but the menu never changes and is very limited. They are unable to offer any alternative in the Restaurant. I could not find a main course I liked the look of and so paid £30 for a starter and a pudding, neither of which was worth bothering with. We were there for four days, but dined in only once. We asked to see the next night’s menu, but found it was the same. It never changes. Even on line it is the same.
It could so easily be very much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarboroughWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Scarborough Wiz,

Thank you for your constructive comments following a recent visit to The Talbot.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy our food offering, but as you can see by the other few hundred reviews that we have had over our first year of trading, most of our guests seem to love it.

As with any other business in the land, you simply cannot please everyone that comes through your door.....But rest assured, we try our very hardest to make all our guests happy, comfortable, well looked after and pampered.

Kind regards.

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a couple of nights here on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and overall found it a very good experience, although with a few issues that stopped it being really great.
Our bedroom was large (mid range room) and had a lovely big, comfortable bed and plenty of storage. We also had a full bathroom with a very powerful 'rainfall' shower, smart granite floors and sink unit. The bathroom was however not very warm due to the large single-glazed sash window which was unfortunately alongside the bath/shower and let in the unseasonably cold air. The road noise was also very obvious in the bathroom although hardly at all in the bedroom due to extra secondary glazing and very thick curtains. Would be a problem in the summer if you needed to open the window to keep cool as it is quite a busy road.
The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good (expect 'cheffy portions' not 'Yorkshire' helpings) but the short menu was the same on both nights for all courses. I think I would have struggled to choose something else I fancied if it had been the same again on a third night. The 1920's /30's soundtrack lost it's attraction when the same songs came round again at breakfast!
Breakfast was unremarkable I'm afraid. My bacon was quite tough and the black pudding a bit dried out on one side the day before, also far more apple than anything else in the fruit salad. It was fresh fruit salad though and the orange juice was very good quality. I'm being picky because this is not a cheap hotel so I think everything should be really good quality.
Most staff were friendly and very helpful but a couple were quite offhand which was a shame. Maybe some more staff training is needed to make sure that everyone understands that excellent service is what people remember, and what makes them want to come back?

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is away from the road and has extensive views over the river and countryside b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sophia North York,

Thank you for your detailed feedback,

Secondary glazing is currently being fitted in the bedrooms and bathrooms that require it.

We have discussed your other points as a team and thank you for your helpful comments.

We all hope that we have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

On arrival we where not made to feel very welcome by the young lady on reception,we did wonder if it was because we were "living social guests", but thankfully everyone else were superb. I asked for a walk in shower as I have mobility problems, this was allocated to us but sadly it was on the 2nd floor and no lift. They apparently do have a disabled room but the manager informed us he only uses it in an emergency as it is by the bar and VERY noisy. The trip up 2 floors was more than worth the energy when you see the walk in shower I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The food was excellent and is advertised as a James Martin restaurant but apparently he only appears about once a month. I would recommend the Talbot to anyone wanting to stay in the Malton area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Penny06_11,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Our local team of receptionists are usually very cheery, so I am sorry if we had a wee blip on that front.

I do remember talking to you concerning our disabled room, because it is situated at one end of the house, at weekends it can get quite busy and I always like to upgrade guests whenever possible. I do hope you enjoyed that.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed our food offering and we all hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, very good service and attention to detail throughout. Food was impressive using local produce. Room was lovely, even though we were road side, we could not hear the road. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Jill H,

Thank you for your very kind words, they are warmly received by us all.

We are all delighted that you would not hesitate to recommend The Talbot to other people, as a fairly new business, we welcome all people's comments and remarks.

We hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We atayed as a couple and took our little dog Poppy and I have to say it was fantastic and the staff could not have done anymore to make us and Poppy feel welcome we will certainly be back. we have stayed at other hotels since but none have matched up - really great and thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear charlotte h,

Thank you for your generous words of praise, it is always nice to be told that you have made someones stay such a special one.

We do pride ourselves as being pet friendly and it is indeed a great place to bring them as we have some fantastic walks around the town of Malton and along the river.

Hopefully we will see you again soon and we can all make a fuss of Poppy again!!

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. durham england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our stay was like being in a country house rather than a hotel. Everyone was most friendly and helpful and the food out of this world. We will certainly be staying here again. Malton is a market town with lots of attractions in the area to visit or the gardens at the hotel would be lovely to relax in when the weather improves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allotment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Allotment,

Thank you very much for your kind words following a recent stay with us at The Talbot.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
13.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing