We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and elegant Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in snowy mid March and were delighted with the location of Malton and with the town, but especially with the hotel.
The service was excellent - nothing was too much trouble and we were constantly astonished at the speed with which our requests were delivered either in the dining room, sittting room, bar or our room. The staff were knowledgeable and even able to cover more than one area, which gave a nice personal feel to the hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable with all fittings and fixtures polished and working, minor details remembered and in keeping with the furnishings (good hangers, good showerheads, even a doorstop in the bathroom).
Food - we loved the breakfasts, and the teas and ad hoc dining were fresh and healthy with a late night cheeseboard tasty and attractively presented, but were a little disappointed by the evening meal; the food was beautifully prepared and presented and the flavour and quality were excellent but it wasn't quite as 'magical' as we had expected. So a minor criticism, but we had only one experience of it and would have liked to return.
Well worth the 200 mile journey.

Room Tip: Ryedale room was spacious and comfortable. Despite being at the front of the hotel, the double glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosmanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Mosmanbabe,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the service and what The Talbot has to offer and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Visited the Talbot again and once again we were not dissappointed. This time we were given a room on the second floor. It was very spacious and luxurious. The view of the hills outside Malton sprinkled with snow when we woke was magnificent. The food at dinner was fabulous, the duck starter was a revelation and the passion fruit mousse finished off the meal in style. The comfortable sofas in front of the fires in the elegant drawing room is the perfect place to have coffee after dinner or afternoon tea on a cold day. The staff are professional and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I recommend the Talbot to anyone who wants to experience good service in refined surrounding and fabulous food, We will be back soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms are of a very high standard. There is no lift so ask for the first floor if you aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanaJ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear RomanaJ 1951,

Thank you for your very kind words following your recent stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed the service so much and our food offering.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having booked a table at The Leeds Kitchen in December for my birthday in March, we were devastated to find out that the Casino had closed, which included the two reastaurants. So we had to come up with another idea. What a good idea we had. We stayed at The Talbot hotel on my birthday (17th March) and had a fantastic time, The Hotel, the staff and especially the food, could not have been better. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Diane R,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Talbot.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the service and our food offering and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to this hotel with very high expectations, particularly regarding the food given James Martin's connection. On arrival, we were told our rooms would be ready later i the afternoon so we had a drink and lunch in the bar. The lighter lunch options were very tasty and we certainly enjoyed it albeit the service was very slow.

When we finally accessed our room, it was large and comfortable with a smart, clean bathroom with separate bath and shower area which I always prefer. However, whilst our friends had a room with slippers and bathrobes, sadly we did not. The room was also unbelievably hot but you couldn't really leave the window open as it fronted onto the main road and was pretty noisy.

When it came to dinner, we had asked for a table near the window if possible. Instead we were shown into the far corner of a secondary dining area - pretty much as far away from a window as it might be possible to get! To be honest, I and my friend found the food disapointing. Flavourless smoked salmon, a huge hunk of beef cheek that was well cooked enough but also lacked flavour and an OK but small chese board. Not what we had hoped for although nothing specific to complain about. Just disappointing.

We were woken at 8am by the housekeeping staff talking loudly to each other - come on guys, it was a Sunday! Breakfast was OK but the kippers must have had the most bones I have ever experienced!

Little details were missed. For example, on the impressive staircase, nearly every other bulb on the light fittings weren't working.

So good, but could do a lot better and I think Mr Martin should spend a little more time advising the kitchen!

Room Tip: Away from the housekeepers if you want to sleep late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Hotel Harry,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent visit to The Talbot.

I am a little surprised regarding your remarks concerning our food offering, we do not normally have issues with the flavour of our beef dish as it is marinated for 24 hours. As for the smoked salmon, it is again something that we never have a problem with.

I was aware that a number of rooms were without bath robes and slippers and indeed, it has been very difficult to maintain our stock levels of laundry over the past month.
The reason being, is that the weather has been so bad around North Yorkshire, we have had real issues with our deliveries.

I know that there have been a couple of items that we have run short of, but it has been a rather extraordinary spell of weather!

As for the lights on our staircase, we have a full time local gentleman who checks all of these things everyday, Monday to Friday and due to the rather awkward nature of the chandeliers and being so high up, it really is not a job to be tackled without caution.
As you would have seen, there is a big drop within the stairwell. The three bulbs that were had gone out, were replaced on Monday morning.

Your concerns regarding James Martin and his input I feel are slightly unfair.

James is very passionate regarding his team here, The Hotel and Malton. He grew up here and loves the place.

I have had a chat with the housekeeping team and I thank you for all of your feedback that you gave us.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed overnight at The Talbot Hotel, Houghton suite, very spacious and very clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful, only slight issue was the tea/coffee it is ordered and delivered to the room or conservatory, on one occasion it took us 2 or 3 calls waiting for an answer, this is obviously during check in time.

The Dinner night was fantastic and the food as described each course by James Martin was wonderful. Overall a great birthday treat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Mike T,

Thank you for your kind feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and the service from the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night in the Houghton Suite. The rooms were beautiful, spacious bedroom with extra large comfy bed, immaculately clean bathroom and a comfortable large sitting/dining room. We ate in the restaurant and couldn't fault the meal. The service in the bar and restaurant was excellent and the staff over all were very polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Brian N,

Thank you very much for your generous comments following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed everything regarding your experience at The Talbot and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We really went to this hotel for the food (James Martin restaurant) rather than to actually stay at the hotel.
My other half says I should not compare it to the more expensive places we stay at so I'm trying to bear that in mind when I write this!
The service was ok... One particularly friendly waitress but the difficulty was they were so busy and there was 1 poor barman trying to accommodate everyone so standard were hard to maintain
The food was ok but to be honest tasteless and disappointing (ox cheeks)
I think they're trying to be something they're not
The room was fine and the bathroom gorgeous
Would I stay again, yes if I was in the area but I wouldn't eat in house

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniepankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Anniepankles,

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit.

I was sorry to read that you were a bit disappointed about the food we offered you and it did not impress you. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel, but assure you that we are simply trying to be a friendly place that tries to look after our guests and nothing else.

I do hope that you afford us the chance to show you just how good our food can be and come and visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
530 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
565 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range: $139 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing