We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbot Hotel Malton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel on a Living Social Deal and got absolutely amazing value. The staff were very welcoming, the room we stayed in Nantclwyd - the Junior Suite is absolutely beautiful- a huge room with 4 poster bed, sofa, lovely bathroom with free standing bath and separate monsoon shower When we were there we had a lovely snowy view of the river and fields. Everything in the hotel is top quality- lovely bed linen, toiletries etc. Service is outstanding with friendly staff delivering a cafetiere of coffee delivered to the room any time. We dined in the restaurant at night and did find the menu slightly limited. However the food was beautifully cooked and presented and once again we were served with a smile. The dining room is candle lit and quiet so lovely for a romantic meal.Breakfast next morning was also very good. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

I thank you for your generous words and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We try hard to keep our service standards as high as possible and the personal touch of bringing freshly made coffee to the room, is always welcomed!

kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    264
    88
    38
    8
See reviews for
118
843
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I live in Beverley and sometimes spend the day in Malton. I have not been to the Talbot for a meal yet, but I have called in for early morning coffee on three occasions, and will continue to do so as I cannot fault the place. The staff are lovely - welcoming and efficient. The coffee is freshly made in a cafettiere and comes on a tray with a jug of hot milk, sugar and homemade biscuit. I sit in the lounge which has comfy chairs and sofas, and a roaring fire (essential at this time of year in North Yorkshire!) and read the magazines and newspapers supplied. I am left in peace to enjoy my coffee and pay a very reasonable price when I am ready to leave. What's not to like !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I have read your comments about how much you enjoy visiting us for coffee on a regular basis and must say how pleasing it is to hear feedback such as yours.

We are a lovely restored house in the middle of a very nice Yorkshire market town, where we like nothing more than to welcome people for coffee, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, or just a glass of wine or your favourite tipple at any time!

Of course we have bedrooms for our guests who are travelling from further afield, but we like nothing more than to look after our local residents too!

See you soon,

My kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton,west yorkshirel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Whilst vising Malton a group of us decided to go to TheTalbot for lunch. When it arrived the beef sandwich was served on stale bread, the burgers were undercooked in the midle and the risotto was also undercooked. No 3 bite check to ensure we were happy with the meal. When the waitress came back to clear the table she was very apologetic and did take a burger back to show the chef. She did infom us that it was policy for all burgers to be cooked well done although 3 out of 3 of ours were undercooked in the middle. Fortunately for them my husband and his friend like them this way. My other friend however didn't and it put her off her meal alltogether. The hotel itself looks stunning (apart from the damaged door in the ladies toilet), but the quality of the food will stop us from visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1963D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food that you had during your recent visit to us.

We have put a policy in place to offer either ''Pink or Well done'' options going forward.

There is no excuse for bread that is not fresh and I am very sorry for this.

I would be much obliged if you contacted me directly at the hotel to go through a solution.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This too was our second visit to the Talbot, and as with previous reviewers, we don't live far, about 45minutes away so very easy to get to. Stayed again in the Fitzwilliam Suite, and in common with other people love it for being beautiful, three big bay windows looking out to the countryside and the river. The four poster bed is very comfortable, the sheets, bathrobes, towels etc always clean and fluffy where appropriate! The meal prepared by James Martin was the reason we came to the hotel this time and we were not disappointed. The food was absolutely excellent, and the introduction before the meal, and in fact each course, from James about the way it was cooked, the ingredients, information about his life and how he ended up where he is today was really interesting. He has probably said the same things repeatedly but it didn't show, he is a natural narrator. Well done James! The meal from the hotel chef the following evening again was very good. The breakfasts are lovely too, and my favourite, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon had the most amount of smoked salmon I think I have ever seen! We asked for tea in our room a couple of times and it always arrived promptly and with a smile. The staff are lovely, and the room is always spotless, so whoever cleans the rooms does an excellent job too. In fact the staff make the stay so pleasurable, you feel very comfortable, never ill at ease. So well done again Talbot, the evening with James was excellent, and yet again, we will be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise! The Evening was a great success and everybody that attended really enjoyed themselves.

We all look forward to welcoming you back at The Talbot soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This too is our second visit to the Talbot even though we only live 17 miles away. I agree with everything ECEJC said. Fortunately, being local we are aware of what traffic there can be on the road and paid extra for a river side room.

James Martin was born nearby and had an input into the menus when the hotel re-opened. The food is excellent and he is very amusing and approachable. He stressed that they try to use local produce wherever possible and apologised for the green thai curry paste and the arborio rice used in his 'signature' risotto dish.

The hotel was full but the staff coped admirably, the barmen clearly knew his regulars. It was also pleasing to see a few locals using the bar which takes the sterility often found in hotels.

Room Tip: A riverside room would be essential in summer if you wish to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with James Martin with us.

It was indeed a very enjoyable night and all who attended seemed to really enjoy themselves...As did all of the team here!

We all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is owned by a large estate and is an historic elegant building. Visiting in winter was a joy because it was heated to perfection augmented by log fires. The staff were well trained and polite , nothing was too much trouble providing help and support when required.. The two rooms we experienced were large and beautifully decorated. This place was revamped from top to bottom only a couple of years ago so all the plumbing and electrics is right up to the mark.
This hotel is costly unless you can get a discounted deal. Tea and coffee is served with no additional costs any time day or night anywhere in the hotel. The food and dining room experience is top class.
If you can afford this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, how much do you want to pay?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind feedback after your recent stay at The Talbot.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed our service standards, food and the hotel experience in general.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stopped for 2 nights on a living social break. It was the best short break we have ever had. We must compliment every member of staff we met for their attention to detail in making our stay so very pleasant. From the minute we walked into the hotel and had our cases taken to our room, the restaurant staff who remembered where we liked to sit and especially the barman and hotel manager who spent time talking to my husband on the Thursday night. The food menu was varied so over the 2 days we had plenty of choice. We can't wait to return and spend another couple of nights in luxury. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always nice to read how much someone has enjoyed themselves at The Talbot!

We try to take the time to get to know everyone and we feel it adds to the experience here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
13.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing