We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A true Gem”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent a 2 night break on a travel zoo deal which was excellent value for money and gave us the opportunity to visit the area for the first time which we otherwise would not have considered.

Service was superb throughout, friendly, welcoming, attentive and professional without being pretentious. All staff live locally with the exception of 1 person from France and 1 from New Zealand we were told and the team do appear to be happy and work well together.

Food was fabulous. We had 2 evening meals & 2 breakfasts. We did not sample the lunch bar menu as we were out sightseeing and from Sept there will be evening bar meals available. The tea / coffee is delivered fresh to your room when requested from reception which we had on 3 ocassions and the service was prompt with 1 exception when I ordered at 7am and received it @ 7.30am and was brought coffee when I had requested tea. I chose not to make an issue of this as everything else had been spot on and preferable to have fresh than pre-packed. Felt sorry for the staff who carry the tray though as it is hugh! Room was spotless as was the hotel overall, bed & bedding was very comfortable, plenty of solid storage, provided with bottled water still & sparkling and with Penthaligon's toiletries.

The £4.2 million refurbishment is impressive and the building, furnishings and decor is beautiful. We look forward to seeing the proposed development of the spa facilities across the road at the stables and cookery school & tea room in the adjacent building if these are developed. The hotel will be a stunning venue to have a wedding especially when the gardens mature. At present there is limited external seating and benches to admire the view.

Malton is a nice village and has a working cattle market auction on a Tues & Fri. We found all the locals in Malton and surrounding locality very friendly and helpful. On 1 day we left the car in Whitby and got the bus to Robin Hood's bay and then walked the Cleveland way along the cliff coast back to Whiby which took 3 hours with stunning views. Whitby and RH bay are scenic and quaint with cobbled streets and old wordly charm. There was a folk festival on in Whitby during our stay and we were fortunate to see the heather in flower on the moors.

A very enjoyable break for our wedding anniversary and felt spolit throughout our stay. Would highly recommend a visit and it has inspired us to revisit this part of the country again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear karen t

Thjank you so much for your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Talbot. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated all of the local staff. We hope that it helps give people a taste of the area by meeting people who can give you their own personal thoughts and ideas on what to do whilst here.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    279
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
124
879
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

well this was our first trip away without the kids - EVER - and we decided to upgrade to a Junior suite which was FAB!

SERVICE : Excellent

FOOD : Excellent *** as expected ( James Martin as Executive Chef, so should be good ) although I would say that had we had more than the two nights at the hotel the menu choice was quite limiting could maybe have done with another 2 - 3 options /possibly a special of the day etc to vary the menu and to also keep the locals coming back !

ACCOMMODATION : Excellent, although we can only comment from upgrading to a Junior suite which had fantastic views ! One point to management tho - please don't put the TV on the chest of drawers in front of the central window ….. would rather we had the 'view' and the TV was off to the side ! And I would if poss open up the fireplace and make a real feature of it ! But that's just personal taste !!

LOCATION : Excellent ….. for good access to many tourist attractions and The fantastic North Yorkshire Moors !

Room Tip: the Junior Suite is away from the road and being situated on the corner of the building has fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareMNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband took me to The Talbot restaurant for a birthday dinner. The food was absolutely delicious. I had a beautiful goat cheese salad and then the tenderest and sweetest lamb. Someone has written about portion sizes being too small - I thought they were perfect especially if you want to try every course. We thought the meal was extremely good value for the quality. Don't expect a New York style cocktail in advance - they are not ready for that yet, and the bar could do with being more inviting - it's a bit of a thoroughfare; but this is all detail to a fabulous experience in an hotel which has been restored to its former glory. On a summer evening the views across the Derwent are exactly what anyone would want to wind up a busy day exploring North Yorkshire, and equally appealing to us, even though we live in this beautiful area already. Congratulations Talbot on a job well done and here's to a highly successful future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaFCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear FionaFCroft

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and do hope to welcome you back to the Talbot soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thanks to Travelzoo we got a two night stay here at a reduced price. I was concerned that it might result in reduced service, how wrong could I have been?
From the time we made the phone confirmation the service of the staff was excellent. The decor of the hotel was first class and the food was just superb. I have never tasted confit lamb before and crave it now in the hope it will be on a par with that served to me at the Talbot.
Huge bed with beautifully crisp clean linnen and magnificent bathroom ensured we were ready for a day at Castle Howard before returning for a three course dinner after being entertained by the batman serving our drinks.
From tea or coffee in the lounge or as room service this was service with a smile.
The only drawback was the poor wifi connection; but as we were not there for business it made little difference. This was an excellent stay which alowed us to relax in comfort.

Room Tip: The town has a number of shops and stores for foodies the butchers is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear welshfan

Many thanks for taking the time out to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I would however just like to ask which room you stayed in as I would like to check the wireless network as it is something we have tried to ensure is good over the whole hotel so it is concerning to here a guest had an issue.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. Building is very imposing and the gardens beautifully manicured. The interior has been tastefully decorated. Our room was comfortable but it didn't wow me and i feel the rooms are overpriced. As i entered our bathroom, the loo seat was up and there was someone else's pee on the loo. The hotel is situated next to a very busy road and you can hear traffic noise. Our restaurant experience for both evening meal and breakfast was lovely and the food/service very good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theharwoodgrasmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear theharwoodgrasmere

I was sorry to hear of your issue with the bathroom and I wondered if I could please ask which room number it was and when you stayed so I can investigate this further?

I am pleased however that apart from the room you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A friend and I treated ourselves to a travelzoo offer to stay here for one night. From the moment I picked up the phone to book we received excellent service.Staff were professional whilst warm and welcoming.

The food was some of the best I have ever tasted. It was full of flavour and most of it was locally sourced. That went for the three course meal, the olives at the bar and the best bacon roll I have ever eaten.

Well Done

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Beth74_12

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed it so much and I very much hope we will be seeing you at the Talbot again soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The horel is wonderful in service, decor, comfort and friendliness.
However, like several guests before me, although the food was very very nice the portion sizes were very small. My partner thought he was being served from 'war time rationing',
Also, we had a 2 night stay and the menu stayed the same, how often does it change,
The management appear reluctant to comment on either matter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear William J

I was sorry to hear that you felt the portion sizes were not acceptable. The menu has been designed as a three course meal and whilst you mention that a few people have made comment the majority feel it is suitable. We are however looking at a way that we can satisfy everyones need and will soon have soloution to this.

Kind regards


Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
503 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
13.2 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing