We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is wow!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. From the moment you see it, it is spectactular. Amazing setting. We stayed with a travel zoo voucher and from some experiences with various types of discount vouchers, you can get treated as second class. Not here, you are treated like nothing is too much trouble. The hotel's decor is perfect. Fresh flowers everywhere, even in the rooms. The food in the restaurant was out of this world. Service excellent. The waitress highly recommended the Halibut and Im glad I had this, it was fantastic. Room very classy with a top notch bathroom, a mirror that de steams itself!! Breakfast followed the same high standards. We will definitely be back. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Amanda H

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you left feeling treated as a valued guest. We have worked hard on finding local staff who can make a difference to a guests visit so it is always appreciated when someone takes the time to post their positive comments.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel has been beautifully renovated to an excellent standard and with a really elegant feel to the rooms and communal areas.

The room was spacious with a huge bed (very comfortable). The lack of tea and coffee facilities was a bit of a surprise and we only found out about getting tea sent to the room by reading trip advisor so could have been better explained in the 'in room' literature.

As keen amateur 'foodies' the main reason for the visit was actually for the restaurant operated in conjunction with James Martin. I'm glad to say that we were not disappointed. I could dedicate an entire review to the faultless food alone but won't waste peoples time. Needless to say it was one of the best meals we've ever had from start to finish. Not the most lavish, not the most boundary pushing or experimental - just excellently thought out and executed to a fantastic standard. Every item on every plate was there for a reason - no showing off or unnecessary grandeur. The croissant butter pudding was to die for.

Overall a great experience. The hotel is a lovely place to stay and if the restaurant keeps up those standards people will travel far and wide to sample the food - even if your unlikely to ever be lucky enough to see James Martin there!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JJC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear JJC04

Thank you for taking the time to review the Talbot on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that the tea and coffee facilities were not explained to you on check in as it should have.

I am very pleased however that you enjoyed your time with us and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The title of the review is the only disappointment this hotel brought and even this, for a massive JM fan, wasn't anymore than a passing frown. From arrival to departure I was in heaven - the welcome, the staff , the room and oooooh the food! Compliments to the chef who although not James his skills must be equal the dinner was out of this world - you must try the banana parfait and pea soup - not served together I might add! Our room over looked the main road but wasn't too noisy, the bed was mega comfy and the robes and slippers add a special touch. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but a call to reception and a cafetiere and teapot freshly made were delivered. The staff are friendly and polite - special thanks go to Bruce the barman and Ally the waitress at breakfast who were outstanding. Can't wait to visit again James or no James! Who knows next time we may catch a glimpse:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zizzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear zizzbear

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am afraid James is filming in America at the moment, but I am pleased that you could see the ability that the rest of the team have.

I am also pleased that you intend to come back and look forward to meeting you then.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have retrurned home today from the Talbot after a Travelzoo deal I would first like to say how much we enjoyed the stay. This was despite an annoying problem that occured on our first night in the Watson room [12], which we had upgraded to. We were kept awake for most of the night by the extractor fan in the bathroom, and had to telephone reception at 3.30am, and a temporary fix was made the following day whilst we were out. We would like to say at this point that we very much appreciated the assistance from Anika, who despite being new to the Hotel gave prompt and satisfactory service.
However, on the negative side we rather thought that Robert, the Manger should probably have at least spoken to us himeself at some point during our stay to apologise for the problem.
On the plus side the Hotel refurbishments are amazing, and it can be seen quite clearly where all the £4m was spent, and we can say that our room was excellent. The service was at all times first class, and the complimentary tea and coffee [with fresh milk] was always delivered to us promply and by pleasant and most helpful staff. We were impressed with the service at all times. The food in the restaurant was first class, though the lamb was a little on the tough side, so we decided not to make it an issue, as we were enjoying the ambience of the evening. The drinks were reasonably priced and to have tea and coffee served at no cost throughout the day was also very good value for money.
One little suggestion that I have seen mentioned before, perhaps some background light music in restaurant. With a little more attention to communication and other very minor details this Hotel will always be a favorite with us, and we would hesitate in telling everyone so.
Many thanks!

Room Tip: Watson Room 12, one of the feature room, more expensive, but very comfy, loved the rolltop bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MERVIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear MERVIN W

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. We take feedback very seriously and I am pleased that we managed to find a soloution to the problem you had. I am afraid that I had just assumed you were having dinner on the night in question and was intending on speaking to you then, so for this I do appologise. I would hope you can see by the fact that I respond to everyone personally on here that this merely an oversight and nothing more.

I do hope to welcome you back to the talbot and I would ask that you introduce yourself when you are here.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We can not really add to the previous reviews. We stayed here two nights ago on a travelzoo deal
and were very impressed by the friendly service. We stayed in one of their 'basic' rooms but this was still luxurious and beautifully refurbished. Dinner was included in our deal but we stayed for lunch too. The food was imaginative, beautifully presented and cooked with a good choice of wines by the glass. A nice touch was free tea or coffee in the lounge or your room instead of having a kettle etc. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear sb133

Thank you for taking the time out to post your comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just returned from our Travel Zoo offer stay at the Talbot and have enjoyed one of our best trips away. The hotel refurbishment is very new, however it has the right balance between luxury and comfortable without being pretentious. The food was fantastic and although our meal was included in our offer, we would not hesitate in paying the full cost of £29 for the 3 course meal. We will definitely return and look forward to seeing the grounds makeover.

Dave & Julie, Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Julie M

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back when the gardens have developed a bit more if the weather ever decides to help.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had two nights here in one of the Malton rooms ...great en-suite bathroom , loads of space in the bedroom with comfortable sofa and tv & DVD player . Evening meal was excellent and matched by equally well presented breakfasts......service was very good without being over- fussy ,making for very relaxing meals.
Great location with loads of places to visit in the local area . Hotel has plenty of car parking . Hopefully the garden areas will be developed over the forthcoming months to provide even more fresh ingredients for the meals ?
Couldn't fault the hotel at all...we hope to return as soon as possible !

Room Tip: One overlooking the rear of hotel with garden and river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianhedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear brianhedley

Thank you for your review of the Talbot I am pleased to tell you we are busy planting more produce and it will be finding its way on to the plate over the next few months.

Kind regards

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
531 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
565 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range: $138 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing