We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, food and very attentive and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb hotel, food and very attentive and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just returned from our Travel Zoo offer stay at the Talbot and have enjoyed one of our best trips away. The hotel refurbishment is very new, however it has the right balance between luxury and comfortable without being pretentious. The food was fantastic and although our meal was included in our offer, we would not hesitate in paying the full cost of £29 for the 3 course meal. We will definitely return and look forward to seeing the grounds makeover.

Dave & Julie, Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Julie M

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back when the gardens have developed a bit more if the weather ever decides to help.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    275
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
124
873
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had two nights here in one of the Malton rooms ...great en-suite bathroom , loads of space in the bedroom with comfortable sofa and tv & DVD player . Evening meal was excellent and matched by equally well presented breakfasts......service was very good without being over- fussy ,making for very relaxing meals.
Great location with loads of places to visit in the local area . Hotel has plenty of car parking . Hopefully the garden areas will be developed over the forthcoming months to provide even more fresh ingredients for the meals ?
Couldn't fault the hotel at all...we hope to return as soon as possible !

Room Tip: One overlooking the rear of hotel with garden and river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianhedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear brianhedley

Thank you for your review of the Talbot I am pleased to tell you we are busy planting more produce and it will be finding its way on to the plate over the next few months.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at The Talbot Hotel. A luxurious way to end our holiday around the Yorkshire Moors, and celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms were also beautiful, spacious and spotless. Although there was a problem with the lights in our first room, the staff were quick to respond and solution provided. We ate in the resaurant on our first night and it was, once again excellent - really enjoyable - a taste extravaganza!! on all accounts; welcome, service, food, rooms - outstanding. I would fully recommend this hotel. A treat, and a way to celebrate special occasions. Just booked to celebrate my mums 70th Birhday - can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear KirkNic

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Talbot. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were looking for somewhere in the UK for a 2 night 'mini-moon' after our wedding ... found the perfect deal on Travelzoo at The Talbot. Before I come onto the hotel - the location is superb - had a lovely day touring out along the coast and then back through the Moors - visit the pub at Becks Hole ... its brilliant! Back to the hotel - it felt like we were staying in amongst the pages of a House and Garden Magazine. The decor was absolutely beautiful with grand sized rooms and stylish but comfortable communal areas. This was topped off with unpretentious service - some times you visit places on a 'deal' - they know you have not paid 'full price' and the service reflects this. Not at The Talbot. There was a note in our room advising guests to contact reception if they had forgotten anything ... we had left toothpaste behind - the reception sent someone out to buy us some - on the house! The deal we had included a 3 course meal and champagne which were superb as were the breakfasts ... Malton has a few other food options - including a nice Thai practically next door which was good a good alternative as we did not feel like a large rich meal two nights running.
Thanks again for putting on the Travelzoo offer, we would not have found Malton without it - we will now be recommending the hotel, and general area, to other friends ... and we hope that the business does well into the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the main road which can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitneyUKKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear WitneyUKKiwi

Congratulations and many thanks for choosing the Talbot for your Mini Moon. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and got to take in so much of the local area. We all hope to welcome you back for your anniversary.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
269 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you fancy a lovely night away, this is the place to come.We paid to upgrade our room, we stayed in the Lambton. It had a lovely view over the garden, the bed was so comfy,and the bathroom,complete with roll top bath, cast iron fireplace,and massive shower was fantastic.The staff were very friendly and helpful.We ate in the restaurant, executive chef James Martin, and the food was delicious, the portion sizes were a little small, however, and ,my husband was still hungry after 3 courses!.Breakfast was delicious,with an excellent choice available.
The hotel has recently been refurbished, and has been done so to a very high standard indeed..
It's a pity it doesn't have a pool, but you can't have everything!

Room Tip: lambton, definatley worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Lou Lou B

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review of your recent stay at the Talbot. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Warm and friendly newly refurbished hotel just outside York. Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely and the bathrooms excellent. The shower was the best I have experienced in any hotel. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, the quality of the food and the service was outstanding. The lounge area was like a country house hotel with comfortable chairs and sofas with up to date newspapers and magazines. We would have no hesitation in going back and recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMR189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear CMR189

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your time at the Talbot. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I very much hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed on a D,B&B deal on newly refurbished hotel. Attentive, knowledgeable staff abound. Bar with real ales and plentiful selection of wines and cocktails. Decor pleasant throughout. James Martin is executive chef and his menu of locally sourced dishes was innovative and very tasteful. Service excellent and unobtrusive. Large well appointed bedroom complete with robes and slippers. No tea and coffee making facilities-ring reception and fresh tea or coffee is brought to you room-Ah fresh milk! Nice touch. Breakfast cooked fresh and very tasty. Higly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Pigsleyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Pigsleyfan

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Talbot. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
536 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,531 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing