We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience - great refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely experience - great refurb”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had a one night stay on a Travelzoo deal which was fab value for money. Arrived 2.30 on the dot. First impressions were good. A lovely reception area and friendly welcome. Beautiful fresh flowers on display. I was shown up to my room by a young 'bell boy' who carried my bag and informed me that there were no beverage making facilities in the room but these could be ordered to be brought up to the room and were complimemtary. There was bottled water, homemade biscuits, penhaligon's toiletries, towelling robes, slippers, tissues, cotton wool balls and writing materials provided. The room was large and traditionally furnished with quality pieces and decor. The bathroom was also large with lovely vanity unit and bath with monsoon shower over. The towels were not that soft but were adequate.
The bar area was run well by a very amiable 'yorkshire' bar man, who kept customers entertained. There was no background music which would have been nice, especially in the restaurant but I understand that the family owners specifically don't want that.
The restaurant was lovely. We asked for a window seat if possible and was pleased to get one.
The service in the restaurant was efficient and friendly. Every course of the meal was very good, cooked and presented well. The white chocolate and whiskey croissant pudding was delightful!!
The bed was very comfortable. The television was sat on a chest of drawers but the view from the bed would be better if it was mounted on the wall. Freeview channels available and also free Wifi access.
Breakfast was good although service was a bit disorganised. The manager helped out, which is good to see. Quality produce once again.
There are plans to develop the garden area and to provide spa facilities across the road, which will make an already attractive place appeal to a wider clientele.
I would definitely stay here again and gladly pay full price.

Room Tip: Room 10 is large and has everything you could wish for. It overlooks a courtyard and although near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear 1960vintage

I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon for another visit.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    275
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
124
873
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights ( Sunday & Monday) end of June booked on a TravelZoo break. Paid to upgrade our room on booking as we're told all rooms included in the offer were full only to find on arrival that several guests booking after us had been upgraded for free some to suites and feature rooms. Not a good start. The hotel has had a major refurb and is very comfortable. Our room was large and well furnished as was the rest of the hotel. We had no bath robes on arrival (lunch time Monday) and mentioned this to several staff. They finally arrived at 5.30pm Tuesday after another visit to reception. The staff are very pleasant and want to help but there just doesn't seem to be any management structure. Some tells someone who tells someone else but nothing happens. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was very good but if you are there more than 3 or 4 nights you would struggle with the limited menu. The wine list also is quite limited. Chosen by the family we were told who are obviously not fond of New World wines. Although a second wine list was provided by mistake when we asked to look at dessert wines but this was quickly taken away. This was more extensive and could be available later. We had a great table for dinner the first evening and asked for the same for the following night, yes no problem said the waitress who went to organise it at the desk. But no we were given a table at the other end of the room with my husband half facing a wall and curtain! We did move to a better table when it had been vacated but it was a situation that shouldn't have happened. Breakfast was good if you want hot food but the buffet was very poor. First morning the only fresh fruit was wafer thin pices of melon on day two ther were 7 slices of (again)wafer thin pineapple 6 strawberries halved a spoonful of raspberries and a sliced kiwi. I think a little more effort is needed. After all that I have to say when it gets it's act together it will be a great place. A very comfortable hotel with staff who want to help and are very friendly but it needs some leadership. It's in a beautiful part of the country and near to the coast. Would I return? Maybe..... But I'm glad I didn't pay full rates this time.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness centre but would not let me delete rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Pat227131

Many thanks for posting your comments on tripadvisor. As we discussed on the evening we acknowledge we have areas to improve on and we are continually striving to do so. We have come a long way over the last two months but we aim to continually imporve.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Apologies for the late posting of this review.
A belated birthday treat courtesy of the wife turned out to be one of the best nights we have had for a long time.
We arrived around 3pm on a Thursday afternoon and as soon as we arrived we knew that news of the refurb was not merely publicity hype. Very efficient check in, a swift tour of the hotel and up to our first floor room. The room itself was a delight, at the rear of the property and overlooking the river, it was more of a suite then a room. Large sitting area, massive bed with exceptional linen (Isabella), good quality curtains and soft furnishings plus fresh flowers certainly made this a room you would want to spend a lot of time in. We also had a tremendous bathroom with roll top bath and a large separate shower the taps,towels, robes, toiletries and fittings were all very good quality. I believe there was a small supplement for the room but i was well worth it so please dont hesitate to book one if avalable.
The main reason for the visit was to sample the food so after a drink in the bar we were shown inrto the restaurant. Not a big dining room but thats not a bad thing, plenty of equine paintings on the walls remind you that Malton was and still is a major part of the sport of Kings.
Without going into detail the meal was fantastic, plenty of emphasis on local produce, scallops on black pudding for starters, tremendous pink lamb cooked on hay, panacotta for pudding. My wifes food was fantastic too but I was not allowed to taste any so cannot say a great deal. After a nightcap and a chat with fellow diners we had a great nights sleep not hearing any noise from other guests or staff whatsoever.
Breakfast the next morning was faultless, really good juice, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, plenty of toast and good coffee.
Very pleasantly surprised by the value for money, the champagne by the glass and drinks in the bar are very reasonably priced. The staff were passionate and despite the newness of the team they coped very well indeed.
Less than one hour from home, this will become a firm favourite for us and no doubt many others, Mr Martin and Co Take a bow !

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the rear of the hotel and pay for an upgrade you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElPozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear ELPozo

Many thanks for taking the time to post your very kind commnets on tripadvisor. I am very very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Hotel for 2 nights and we upgraded to a feature room (Room 12) best room in the hotel from what we saw of the other rooms. On arrival our room was not ready so we went into Malton for a spot of lunch and found a great little place called The Market Place Wine Bar & Bistro well worth a visit. On arrival back to the hotel our room was ready and were shown to our room where our bags had already been taken up. We had a great view over the soon to be completed gardens, a very large and very comfortable bed, very large bath room with a roll top bath and a walk in shower.
We booked dinner for 7.30 and were running a little behind and we easily moved the time to 8.30. We had dinner in the Wentworth room morr space than the main dining room, but the chairs are not as comfey. We ordered our dinner and asked a member of staff had a bottle of Viognier to be told 10mins later the head bar man had never heard of it!! Our waitress has an annoying habit of saying 'No Problem' all the time and always added strange little comments into every other sentence.
The food that was served was to the usual James Martin standard very good indeed. Pea soup was very nice and the Duck was also very nice too.
Breakfast on the first day was very nice and served in time and was hot. Second day's breakfast was a different story, 2 people had fruit and 2 people had porridge which was very good and then we ordered our cooked breakfast and YES 'trip advisor benno448' we did change some of the items from what was on the menu but the waitress wrote this down and repeated it back to us! After almost 60 minutes our breakfast's turned up and 3 out of the 4 were wrong! After advising this to the waitress she took them back and brought them out a few minutes later. The first waitress came back and apologised and said the chef had got it wrong! But it still took 60 minutes to grill some bacon and fry and egg!
Even though the staff are in general under trained the Hotel is well worth stopping at and I am sure in time I hope this will get sorted out. But in the mean time stop at the Hotel and eat in James's other restaurant The Leeds Kitchen where the staff and food is first class.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andythegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear andythegolfer

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. I am sorry that the breakfast was quite clearly not up to scratch. I have discussed your comments with team as we need to learn how to deal with the situation better when everyone comes down at the same time. Having only been open 10 weeks we still have lots to improve on and I am sure that we will do so.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel its self is lovely. The bedrooms are finished to a very high standard. The food at dinner was very good. But on the flip side of the coin was the poor service by many of the young in-experienced members of staff. The hotels still has a long way to go to provide a service to match the quality of the fixtures & fittings. For example, after waiting nearly an hour for a "Talbot breakfast" our food finally arrived, to which three out of the four orders were wrong. We were hassatly given the excuse that the "chef was only young & not very experienced" - WHAT?! Did this mean that the chef was too young to read the waitresses order?? This is an example of one of the many toe curling "one liners" we experienced whist trying to enjoy our two night stay. We decided not to eat in the hotels resturant on our second night, purely because of the poor service. Not a good experience, and wouldn't return in a hurry... Sorry James, but it's only your name that's pulling in the customers... :-( A disappointing birthday weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmathetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear emmathetraveler

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. I am sorry that the breakfast was quite clearly not up to scratch. I have discussed your comments with team as we need to learn how to deal with the situation better when everyone comes down at the same time. Having only been open 10 weeks we still have lots to improve on and I am sure that we will do so.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent three days at the Talbot and could not fault it on anything. Room was beautifully furnished the restaurant served truly delicious food and the staff were a delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank compstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Compstall

Many thanks for your very kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely night away at The Talbot Hotel.

Room was very comfortable (presumably we got upgraded as we were in room 4 which was actually a suite); the bed linen was crisp and great quality, only (very small) quibble would be lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

The evening meal was cooked to perfection, we couldn't fault any of our dishes and the menu was clearly well thought out.

Lovely breakfast the next morning, great buffet selection with delicious pastries and fresh fruit. Again great choice of hot dishes too - full English, porridge, smoked salmon & scrambled egg, kippers, bacon butties. Really spoilt for choice.

Food and drink are very fairly priced. Will more than certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachb790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Rachb790

I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As we constantly listen to feedback from our guests one thing we will shortly be introducing will be the facility to put in a tea tray in the room should a guest prefer to have one.

I very much hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
536 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing