We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great break”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights through Travelzoo. Fantastic value.Lovely rooms although the first one was noisy.Staff very friendly and helpful. Complimentary tea and coffee was delivered to our room within minutes of our order.
Only blip was service not quite up to scratch during dinner - teething troubles?- and breakfast service a little slow and haphazard.

Room Tip: Our first room overlooked a roof and was very noisy.When we asked to be moved it was "no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear ShropshireTolly

Many thanks for taking time out to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are working hard on developing the team to ensure we get over those teething troubles you refer to and when you return I can assure you we will be able to offer a much slicker service.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    275
    92
    40
    8
See reviews for
124
873
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed here with my hubby and 7 month old. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were worried that the slightly older clientele would frown when our little one was sat in the restaurant, but he charmed the socks of them all. The staff offered to warm up food for him and all took time for us. On our second evening there I asked for our meal to be served in our suite. No problem.
The hotel is newly opened after a massive refurb, so it was always going to be clean. However the housekeeping staff cleaned our room thoroughly even though we were staying. A repair request was dealt with speedily during our breakfast.
A great experience and we would stay there again. Perhaps James Martin, (the executive chef ar the hotel), will be on hand in his restaurant next time to make my experience complete.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mred100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Mred100

Who could not of been charmed by him, he was a delight to have in the hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry James was not here to make it perfect. The guests on Saturday were delighted when he walked in with his Chefs whites on and started cooking.

Hopefully next time for you.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have an overnight stay using a Travelzoo voucher. Despite the bargain price every element of our stay was first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the young enthusiastic staff. The bedroom was beautiful and the food excellent. Surprisingly for a hotel of this standard the wine list had an excellent range of bottles at very reasonable prices. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms and although apparently beverages are readily available on request, it was not made clear that such service is complimentary. In any event we were reluctant to disturb the staff by asking for room service. We look forward to many future visits.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lodger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Lodger3

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that it did not get communicated to you that we offer room service tea and coffee.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here yesterday and were thoroughly impressed throughout our stay. The hotel has clearly been lavished with attention during its recent refurbishment, and every detail seems to have been considered. I think our room was one of their 'standard' rooms, which leaves me wondering just how fantastic their upgraded rooms would be! Our room seemed huge, and was decorated beautifully in a classic style. The bathroom was sizeable, with a lovely bath and over bath shower. Although tea & coffee facilities are not available in the room they are happy to deliver a tray to you free of charge as and when you request it. I also needed an iron, and this was delivered promptly. The only blip in the service was when I asked for a sewing kit to fix a missing button to my waistcoat before dinner, which sadly never arrived, but this is nothing to complain about.
We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar area, which is similarly decorated to the same high standard as the rest of the hotel. We also dined in the restaurant, where the food was as fantastic as you would expect when the Executive Chef is James Martin.

If I were to make any criticism, it would be that some of the staff seemed a little less professional than I have experienced elsewhere. Some of the waitresses made the odd mistake, and the bar staff were a little informal. I'm no snob, but I do like to feel like a valued guest. The place has only just reopened though, and I'm sure there is an element of 'finding their feet'. Bruce, who showed us to our room, was very friendly and professional though, as was the lady who checked us in.

All in all, I would certainly stay here again, and recommend to anyone looking for a quiet slice of the country to call their own!

Room Tip: Realistically I don't think you can go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnysorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Johnnysorrow

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are working hard to iron out all the minor issues and when you return next I can assure you we will be better.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the newly refurbished Talbot Hotel in Malton last Friday evening. The hotel has been decorated and kitted out to the highest possible specification and it truly was the most comfortable nights sleep that i have had in a hotel anywhere. In addition the meals were superb ( created under the guidance of James Martin ) . However , there is work to do on the customer service skills with one girl - Emily- who was serving at breakfast, being the exception to the rule. Emily was excellent!
The owners have sought to create an elegant and distinguished experience and with the building they have done so. They just need the help of Fred Sirieix and the job will be complete!

Room Tip: The bed in room 22 was the height of comfort .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiesheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear rosisheen

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to develop a team that can deliver the service we want to and as such are constantly training the team.

I have passed on your comments to Emily and she thanks you for your kind words.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We can only comment on the restaurant as we live locally. However, we are very happy to recommend the dining experience.

To get the slightly disappointing bits out of the way, despite the massive amount of marketing done on the reopening of this old hotel, and the fact that the kitchen and restaurant boasts links with local boy and celebrity chef James Martin, the restaurant is very small, and is in reality a hotel ding room. A pleasant one at that! Pity that his means booking is difficult as they save tables for hotel guests. Malton is a very well heeled and beautiful part of North Yorkshire, and it is a pity that locals are unable to experience the full James Martin treatment available at other establishments bearing his name. The Table d'Hote menu is small, but amazingly good value considering the quality of the food.

The predominately young staff, are pleasant, helpul and they try really hard. The wine list extensive, and on the whole relatively good value. But the £29 charge for three excellent courses is nothing short of amazing. In common with the James Martin ethic, the restaurant uses locally produced food, and it shows. Everything on the plate was of an excellent qualty, prepared and cooked with care. We would like to become regulars, but would need to see an a la carte alternative very soon.

Other minor grumbles are the smell of fresh paint (hopefully this will subside in time), and I am sorry to say cheap fixtures and fittings. This is a shame when they have clearly spent so much on the renovation - a little more care on antique furniture rather than repro mdf, and better toilet fittings and woodwork would make all the dfference. That should not detract from a very pleasant evening, which we will re-visit at some point.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear PaulausTirol

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.

We are currently looking at the best way to enable us to offer as many tables as possible to local people who want to dine whilst also looking after the needs of the hotel guests.

As regards the menu this will develop over the next few months and I hope that this will be acceptable to you.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked a deal through Travelzoo at £149 but upgraded to a Norton room. The hotel is decorated to a true quality standard and so are the fixtures & fittings. The room was very spacious and comfortable as was the bathroom. The restaraunt was top quality food wise although the portions might have been a bit larger but the food was gorgeous. The drinks were not over priced a nice bottle of wine was £20 which i dont think is unreasonable. The chairs in the bar are a bit uncomfortable but there was more seating on a lower level. All in all the hotel is excellent but one or two of the staff need to up their game to match the standard of the hotel. I would certainly go again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Norton room which was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot-Malton, General Manager at The Talbot Hotel Malton, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Johnsheen

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are working constantly on developing the team to ensure that we can deliver the standard of service that we want to, and I am sure you will notice the improvements next time you visit.

Kind regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
536 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,531 reviews
18.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Hotel Malton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel Malton

Property: The Talbot Hotel Malton
Address: Yorkersgate, Malton YO17 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel Malton 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel - Malton Wentworth Restaurant - Malton Brasserie - Malton Cookery School Dating back to 1740 this lovely old hotel was reinvented in 2012 and named Small Hotel of the Year at Welcome to Yorkshire's White Rose Awards in 2014. The Wentworth Restaurant holds 2 AA rosettes. The country hotel design and atmosphere combined with its historic market town location convenient for York, the moors and coast has made it the place to say in the area. There are 26 individually furnished bedrooms, drawing room and bar, extensive landscaped grounds, two restaurants - the Wentworth Restaurant and Malton Brasserie - and the Wentworth Room for private dining and meetings. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Malton Cookery School, under the same management. The kitchen is in the hands of head chef Dan Graham who has worked under top chefs including Michel Roux at Le Gavroche. The Wentworth Restaurant offers contemporary British cooking with a fine dining 9 course tasting menu in the evenings and a Sunday lunch menu whilst the Malton Brasserie is open daily for lunch and dinner offering brasserie classics and a daily specials board. Working at the Talbot is about enthusiasm and a willingness to reach high standards in a friendly and fast paced environment. For more information please speak to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Talbot Hotel Malton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Malton Nr York
The Talbot Hotel Malton Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing