We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”

Scampston Walled Garden
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to Scampston Hall for the first time last year and enjoyed it so much that we have been again on 25th May 2014. The guides provide very interesting information about the property and the family. Before entering the property the owner Sir Charles actually opens the door to personally greet visitors and has a chat with you before handing over to the guides. Everything about this property is interesting and enjoyable and is well worth a visit. The restaurant provides excellent snacks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    79
    19
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hessle, Nr Hull
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely garden spoiled by strange goings on in the cafe”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Being RHS members, we have been to the Walled Garden several times, find it restful, interesting and we invariably buy some of their plants for our well stocked garden, before visiting the cafe for something to eat.
On Sunday 22nd June, we decided to drive the 40 miles from our home for lunch and a look round the gardens. I don't think weekends count for RHS membership, and we invariably pay whenever we go. We stumped up our £14 to get in but noticed that the cafe was a bit busy, so we went for a walk round the gardens first to give things a while to quieten down. Big mistake. Had they put a notice at the entrance to the gardens, or even at the gardens entrance to the cafe, we would not have run into trouble. Evidently the cafe was closing at 2.30pm for anything other than the sparse offerings near the till. To some extent I can live with this as it transpires that there was a sign at the front entrance to the cafe (which we did not use). The real problem, however, was laughable. They stopped serving customers, to prepare for a "large party" which was coming to the cafe soon. Having explained that we had driven more than 40 miles, just to have our lunch in a nice setting, we were able to have two very dry, unpalatable scones and two cups of tea, whilst they excitedly prepared for the large party. Discussions on sandwiches, tea, coffee and cakes ensued whilst the set a large table for twelve - yes twelve people. They must have turned this many people away!
Anyone with the smallest amount of business acumen should have been able to cope with this "gigantic" influx of people, without having to resort to the closure of the cafe to their regular (or ex regular) customers.
As we walked round the gardens, during which time we could have legitimately ordered a meal, we discussed the benefit of us buying a one year pass for the gardens and the house deciding that it made sense. It was a lovely sunny day, and the gardens were very pleasant
Needless to say, we did not purchase the pass. Neither did we buy any plants like we would have done under normal circumstances, and neither will we be returning. An uneccessarily sad conclusion to our 80 odd miles round trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scampston A, General Manager at Scampston Walled Garden, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear John B,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Scampston.
I am glad that you enjoyed the gardens again and am disappointed to hear that the café did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
As you mentioned, there is a sign outside the main entrance of the café that explains that the hot lunch menu is served from noon until 2:30 daily. This is not affected by whether or not we are expecting a group visit, and, on very busy days, service is extended until 3pm to accommodate visitors. Further to your helpful suggestion we have now added the times to the large blackboard at the main entrance to the garden, so that it is less easy for visitors to miss.
Our scones are baked freshly every morning, and often, due to their popularity, several times during the day. Thank you once again for your feedback which is very helpful and will be used in our regular reviews of how we can improve.
Best Regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our Yorkshire Countrywomen's group visited here last week. What a lovely place. An excellent pre-booked guided tour of the house was given and a very nice lunch was served. Most of us had ordered in advance but those who hadn't were served very quickly with the rest of the group.
We were treated extremely well. Our tables were reserved both for coffee and lunch and we were treated to complimentary home made shortbread with our coffee on arrival.
The gardens are lovely and a good variety of plants are sold on site. The plants are numbered and there is a key in the handbook.
Well worth a visit mainly for adults, although the extensive grounds would be nice for children.
Just be aware that there is no wheelchair access for the upstairs of the house, although that section of the tour is short so there's not much waiting involved.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect day out”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We visited the garden on a warm summer day and had a fantastic time. The garden is truly stunning and very well designed and cared for. There are a number of different areas, each with its own planting scheme and each feeling very different. The restaurant is lovely with friendly staff and delicious food. There is a great plant sales area with very healthy and reasonably priced plants. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, friendly staff, great restaurant!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Visited on a sunny day and the gardens were breathtaking! I expect they are lovely in different ways in every season. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, as well as helpful if you have questions about the plants.

There are plants for sale and a lovely restaurant with tables inside and out for lunch, snacks, hot and cold drinks.

You can also visit the house at certain times; we did not manage to do this, but will be back another time to visit the house as well as garden.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampston Walled Garden also viewed

 
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scampston Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing