We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant short visit.”

Scampston Walled Garden
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant short visit.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a 'living social' offer on entry to the Walled Garden, parkland and cascade circuit for two adults and up to three children but in the end just me and my husband went and I was really glad I hadn't taken the three grandchildren because there really is very little for children especially school age children.
We walked around the walled garden which was very pleasant but didn't take long to cover. The plants are lovely and very well labelled and a fair bit of colour even at the end of september. We then did the cascade circuit which they advise is about a mile but didn't seem that long. Again it was pleasant but not outstanding in any way.
The cafe is lovely and the food home made and very tasty and the staff we spoke to were very friendly and welcoming.
Would only say go in fine dry weather as it isn't cheap to look around the grounds and there is no shelter but if you're heading along the A64 I would say call in for a coffee and a scone as it's free to get into the cafe.
Oh and the bathroom facilities are excellent with Molton Brown soap and hand cream!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cmcpne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    68
    15
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the walled garden. The flowers are dying back now but there was still lots to see. I liked the way the plants were numbered and for 50p for a catelogue you could see all the names. Earmarked a few for my garden, will return for the plant sale. I would recommend the cafe, wonderful homemade food. The plum and almond tart with fresh cream was gorgeous, as was the cream tea. The cascade walk is a good scenic walk to accompany the visit to the walled garden.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped off on visit to North Yorkshire Moors from Derby, and was very glad we did.
It wasn't signposted on the A64 that we saw, but easy to find once off.
The parking is plentiful and free.
The restaurant is lovely with some super-nice staff. Coffee comes with free refills. We had a coffee, a tea, a quiche salad and a pork-pie salad for £18.
The toilets like the restaurant are lovely and clean.
Entry to the gardens is £6pp. They weren't at their best when we visited, but still made for a lovely stop-off on the drive further north.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a delightful garden. The design of the now maturing garden gave the impression of there being only you there. We were lucky having such a lovely sunny day and there being no too many other visitors. I loved the booklets detailing all the plants by number in the garden, many of which were available from the little nursery. All from the seeds and plants in the garden, with the wonderfully helpful lady in the ticket office/shop/nursey who when we asked for a specific unusual plant had someone check in the back area and bring the last one over for us. What we saved on entry with the Living Social deal we certainly spent on some really interesting and unusual plants but a very good value for money.

The cascade walk around the grounds was sublime with battling dragon flies on the lake. We will certainly go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet but beautiful garden to visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A plantsman's and family garden which you can spend a whole day. Old fashioned major house garden with boating lake and Caperbility Brown style and with the modern take in the walled garden where Piet Oudolf has designed beautiful gardens. The summer one was full of butterflies. Quiet and not touristy and the restaurant was high quality, clean and comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fullofcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampston Walled Garden also viewed

 

Been to Scampston Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing