We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Scampston Walled Garden
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
280 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the walled garden. The flowers are dying back now but there was still lots to see. I liked the way the plants were numbered and for 50p for a catelogue you could see all the names. Earmarked a few for my garden, will return for the plant sale. I would recommend the cafe, wonderful homemade food. The plum and almond tart with fresh cream was gorgeous, as was the cream tea. The cascade walk is a good scenic walk to accompany the visit to the walled garden.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    79
    19
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped off on visit to North Yorkshire Moors from Derby, and was very glad we did.
It wasn't signposted on the A64 that we saw, but easy to find once off.
The parking is plentiful and free.
The restaurant is lovely with some super-nice staff. Coffee comes with free refills. We had a coffee, a tea, a quiche salad and a pork-pie salad for £18.
The toilets like the restaurant are lovely and clean.
Entry to the gardens is £6pp. They weren't at their best when we visited, but still made for a lovely stop-off on the drive further north.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a delightful garden. The design of the now maturing garden gave the impression of there being only you there. We were lucky having such a lovely sunny day and there being no too many other visitors. I loved the booklets detailing all the plants by number in the garden, many of which were available from the little nursery. All from the seeds and plants in the garden, with the wonderfully helpful lady in the ticket office/shop/nursey who when we asked for a specific unusual plant had someone check in the back area and bring the last one over for us. What we saved on entry with the Living Social deal we certainly spent on some really interesting and unusual plants but a very good value for money.

The cascade walk around the grounds was sublime with battling dragon flies on the lake. We will certainly go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet but beautiful garden to visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A plantsman's and family garden which you can spend a whole day. Old fashioned major house garden with boating lake and Caperbility Brown style and with the modern take in the walled garden where Piet Oudolf has designed beautiful gardens. The summer one was full of butterflies. Quiet and not touristy and the restaurant was high quality, clean and comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fullofcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Young Families!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Having just arrived home from Scampston Gardens I feel compelled to write a review. I purchased a family ticket from Living Social for £10 for the gardens and cascade walk which was half the normal price. We took our 2 little girls aged 2 & 6 and they loved it. They were made to feel so special by the lady in the ticket office. She gave them a special bag to borrow with children's binoculars, a microscope and torch plus pencil and a work book with clear instructions what to look for. We had a lovely walk round the gardens, it was a gorgeous sunny day, and all the flowers seem to be in full bloom. We had our picnic lunch in the spot near to the car park then afterwards set off for the Cascade walk. The girls loved looking for the animal houses and we really enjoyed the fact that it wasn't over crowed and so they were able to run and play without any dangers. We spent 5 hours here and I think that is well worth £10!
We had ice creams and drinks in the cafe which was clean and modern. The food being brought out to others looking delicious-I would definitely return just for lunch after seeing the meals! The toilets were very clean and modern too with above average fitting and extras (Molten Brown hand wash and hand cream anyone!) I would highly recommend Scampston (on a dry day) for a happy and healthy family day out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ScarboroughAllycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampston Walled Garden also viewed

 
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scampston Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing