We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Malton

“Worth a Visit”

The Old Lodge Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 99 Restaurants in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pleasant dining areas, including bar, restaurant and outside. Dogs welcome outside at all times and inside public areas outside of dining times. Menu includes a wide range of locally sourced meals available from sandwiches to specials. Sunday lunch available all day on Sundays from 12 midday to 9pm, kids eat free after 3pm on Sundays. Afternoon tea available between 2 and 4pm every day, but must be pre-booked.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Lovely ambience especially in small restaurant, great service and superb food reasonably priced. Wine much cheaper by bottle

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank norman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2020

Met with a friend for lunch before Christmas, it was very busy but service was still good. Nice cosy seating and food was good. Would definitely return and recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Lin19582016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

The hotel is a delightful building with log fires, views across the lawns to fields and wonderful, smiling staff. We were there for two nights over New Year and dined in. The dining room is a slight disappointment with bare tables and paper napkins, harsh overhead lighting and wooden flooring, but the food was very good and the waiting staff attentive.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ingandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

Beautiful old Elizabethan building. Drinks first in the bar nr a real big open fire. Dining decorated in a modern style unfortunately feeling a little soulless. Service was extremely slow, had to keep reminding them we were waiting, first courses came after 20mins, v nice quality, second course an hour by this time I was ravenous as I had not had a starter. The waitress apologised before I could complain and said she had taken the drinks off the bill, felt a little disappointed as we had only had two slimline tonics and one beer. I decided to break no the matter up with the manageress who dealt with it extremely well and reduced our bill by half, which was very much appreciated. The food was excellent and we will return but I will be more quicker if there is a delay.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

The hotel allows children to run free, so although the food and service is okay, when they have paying guests w=ith children they fail to control the children. Imagine, a Saturday night meal for two, £140 including two bottles of wine with screaming children running around your table and the staff doing nothing to stop it. That ois why we'll never eat there again!
The previous owners kept a much betted dining area! sad it's gone downhill!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Lodge Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Lodge Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing