We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old times”
Review of Eden Camp

Eden Camp
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.20*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed within the buildings and grounds of a former Prisoner of War camp, a visit to this unique museum will take you back to wartime Britain. Experience the sights, sounds and even smells of life on both the Home Front and the Front Line.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The old times”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great experience. For the young and old. Very well presented. The café is a treat in its self. Lots to see and things to get involved with. Excellent parking.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    444
    85
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Have been a few times and have not seen all of it yet, food could be better, so we take lunch now, very interesting, always something new, good for all ages, wether or not you have an interest in 'war'

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sp0t73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An Educational Trip Back In Time”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Eden Camp is based on the site of a former POW Camp. All of the major exhibits are housed in the former barrack rooms that prisoners of war lived in.

They recommend setting aside three to four hours for your visit. In reality, you need to make several visits if you want to read all of the information boards and look at all of the pictures. There really is that much to see.

There are reconstructions of the Blitz with special effects including sounds, smells, smoke amongst other things to bring the exhibits to life. These exhibits are truly breathtaking and I found them very emotional. I cannot even begin to image what it must of been like to have lived through the wars.
The air raid warning siren, and the sounds of the doodle bugs outside the exhibit huts are really scary and very effective.

What spoils this attraction are the number of school parties that are permitted in at any one time, and the complete disregard the teachers have of their pupils unruly behaviour. You are menat to enter the exhibits and exit them in numerical order and via the entrance and exit doors, but the school parties seem to be quite happy to ignore this, and I found this very annoying and spoilt my overall enjoyment of the attraction. Adult Teachers should no better. My suggestion would be for members of Eden Camp Staff dressed in period costume to 'patrol' the grounds and direct visitors accordingly. Staff in period costume would also add to the overall atmosphere of this very interesting place.

There is a cafe with very reasonably priced food and they play old war time 'sing-a-long' songs which really added to the overall experience of my visit.

There is a small sovenir shop as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gazza1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“day trip”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

we have always wanted to visit eden camp so while in pickering we did ,i have an interest in war years while reading my novels n hubby was in army so brought back memories for him. excellent day out worth every penny , so realistic with noises and smells etc . must visit for young and old .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited the camp on the 19th November it is a pow camp that has been turned into a musuem they say to allow at least 2-3 hours but we found we was there all day it is well worth the entrance fee it is a very informative about the 1st and second world wars plus all the fights we have been in since then . it is very good for the childern to learn about what it was all about there is also an area for the kids to let of steam .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank greyhairedmuchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden Camp also viewed

Malton, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Eden Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing