We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“olde worlde charm”
Review of The Old Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
scarboro north yorks
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“olde worlde charm”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here overnight to attend a wedding taking place in the hotel. Check in was quick and the receptionist showed us to our room ,a nice touch we thought. The room was spotlessly clean and warm on entering.
The furniture was old fashioned but perfectly in keeping with the style of this hotel. The bathroom on the other hand was ultra modern with a nice walk in shower which was nice and powerful with endless hot water and toiletries provided. The standard double bed was comfyand cosy and we had a good nights sleep. There was a welcome tray with tea and coffee and biscuits which were lovely and bottled water, fresh milk was available if preferred. There was a flat screen tv,dvd player and a radio/cd player all provided in the room.

As a wedding venue the Old Lodge is excellent. The staff all seemed to take pride in there work and surroundings providing a perfect day for the wedding party. The food for the wedding breakfast, the evening buffet and canapes during the photographs were all of the highest quality.

Breakfast next morning was hearty and the waiter service made a pleasant change.

The price of the room including breakfast was £135 per night perhaps a tad on the expensive side but for a one night treat acceptable.

We would be happy to return and would recommend especially as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank di1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    85
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
106
209
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Despite looking promising from the outside the dining room at The Old Lodge certainly lacked character. Even more disappointing was the food which was decidedly less than average. We chose one of the specials, which was a fish finger sandwich. We have had these in others restaurants, which have been home made on tasty bread. Theses however were frozen fish fingers on white sliced bread. A further disappointment was the mushroom risotto. It lacked flavour and seemed as if boiled rice had been mixed into a sauce and vegetables.

We will not be making a rerun visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for valentines and will definitely come back! The room was amazing with a Sony bravia TV, four poster bed etc. They also had a rose and petels on the bed for us. We had a three course meal and that was exellent. A little 'posher' than id usually eat but was amazing! Staff all friendly and for the price it was a bargain!!!
Please note - its hard to see the entrance from the road as its only narrow so dont be going too fast or you'll miss the turn (like me)

Room Tip: On the first floor the floor boards are a bit loud around room 17 so if you're a light sleeper s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 697DaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here last night and it was brilliant. Rooms are amazing and the food is utterly gorgeous. The manager remembered us from looking around in August which was lovely as we chatted. Can't believe how people write bad reviews as our experince was brill. You must be miserable boring people yourself to write such horrible things. I will be coming back here and can't wait til my wedding reception hope its soon, if the old lodge was a house would move in today. Thanks again. Catherine

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for two night break to include the New Years Eve masked ball. A well organised event with entertainment and fireworks. The standard of food, and customer service were excellent and its difficult to understand the recent negative reviews. The Manager and all the young staff managed to balance being friendly and helpful without being too familiar
The accommodation in the lodge, a short walk down the road is first class- roomy, clean and newly decorated.
Well done we'll be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldLodgeOwner, Owner at The Old Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We would like to thank this customer for their positive review. It's really nice to get some positive feedback as we try really hard to please all of our customers. We're only human and it makes us all feel really upset when we get negative reviews, especially when the customers don't approach us first if they have an issue and go straight to trip advisor with their comments. We believe that the recent poor reviews that we have received are all from the same party of customers. We think trip advisor is a great tool and we (the staff) all use trip advisor when booking hotels etc, and we do firmly believe and trust that, like us, trip advisor customers read a selection of reviews and make a decision based on the whole picture.
We're so happy that you had a good evening and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wè spent two days at The Old Lodge working hard at a conference. The stay was enhanced by the accomodation and the wonderful food.

We were bowled over by the wonderful bedroom we had and much amused by the fact that it was thè honeymoon suite - we have been married for 41 years!I took a lot of photos of the setting/grounds.

Will probably revisit for a meal in the summer when we pass this way again.

Room Tip: Thy the honeymoon suite - they even have single rates for this room! Rooms at the. Back have a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryandvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a perfect and well thought arrangement The Old Lodgings are. We were a party of 7 and the accommodation worked perfectly for us. Spacious and well equipped bedrooms, all recently fitted. We had a massive bathroom, again extremely well thought out. The living area downstairs was a very nice touch. Comfortable sofas in a relaxing seating area and a more than adequate kitchen area (complete with filtered water machine). The thoughtful staff had even provided bread and milk for us. The Old Lodgings are the ideal venue for a group or family. A large enough area for everyone to get together and also plenty of personal space in the huge rooms. Only a few minutes walk from the Old Lodge where we had a delicious dinner on the Friday evening. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. One of our party even forgot her pyjamas and staff went that extra mile to find a pair to loan for the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
18.6 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge

Property: The Old Lodge
Address: Old Maltongate, Malton YO17 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Tudor mansion set in extensive well maintained grounds, with 28 rooms, many with four post beds. Restaurant with choice of menus, and fully equipped bar. A wonderful venue for work, a holiday, wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Malton
The Old Lodge Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing