We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard working conference”
Review of The Old Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Wè spent two days at The Old Lodge working hard at a conference. The stay was enhanced by the accomodation and the wonderful food.

We were bowled over by the wonderful bedroom we had and much amused by the fact that it was thè honeymoon suite - we have been married for 41 years!I took a lot of photos of the setting/grounds.

Will probably revisit for a meal in the summer when we pass this way again.

Room Tip: Thy the honeymoon suite - they even have single rates for this room! Rooms at the. Back have a wonde...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryandvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for The Old Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 530 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a perfect and well thought arrangement The Old Lodgings are. We were a party of 7 and the accommodation worked perfectly for us. Spacious and well equipped bedrooms, all recently fitted. We had a massive bathroom, again extremely well thought out. The living area downstairs was a very nice touch. Comfortable sofas in a relaxing seating area and a more than adequate kitchen area (complete with filtered water machine). The thoughtful staff had even provided bread and milk for us. The Old Lodgings are the ideal venue for a group or family. A large enough area for everyone to get together and also plenty of personal space in the huge rooms. Only a few minutes walk from the Old Lodge where we had a delicious dinner on the Friday evening. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. One of our party even forgot her pyjamas and staff went that extra mile to find a pair to loan for the weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel because the weekend was a special family weekend. I would say the Old Lodge is a lovely old building & well presented but very sadly let down by the Bulldog manager(no people skills)& indifferent teenage staff. To the owners I would say, sort your staff out especially the front of house staff, without a doubt sort out your booking system,our weekend was ruined by your staff failings! my advice to visitors is go to The Talbot. Some of our family did, we wish we had. Nothing special here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fggjkkhbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here & was extremely let down by service at breakfast - orders arrived at separate times, juice jugs empty & not refilled, no offer of apology or checked on throughout our breakfast.
Staff not attentive & found the manager rather abrupt.
Could be a marvellous hotel - what a shame.
Previously stayed at the talbot down the road where the customer service was second to none, we decided to try the old lodge on good review a real shame we didn't have a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for Burns night weekend, booked us as a Christmas present from mike's son. Stayed in the bridal suite which was stunning. The Burns night was fantastic, with great food and atmosphere - topped off by a fun whiskey tasting event. The hotel & grounds are amazing with a friendly feel about it. We willdefinitely make a return visit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SammyJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fantastic night.My first time, would definately go back, food excellent, staff very helpfull, rooms very nice with massive bathroom. Bag pipes and Burns night host were excellent.
Whiskey tasting was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my husband last weekend. We were joined by friends and had a great weekend. The staff were very welcoming and showed us to our room.
Burns Night was very well organised and very entertaining as described by the previous reviewer. The food was excellent. My husband and other male members of our group enjoyed the whisky tasting very much!!!
The staff were very accomodating including the night staff. The grounds are well maintained as is the exterior and interior of the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.
Thank You to the staff for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0e28750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.0 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
562 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
#4 of 4 in Malton
23 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge

Address: Old Maltongate, Malton YO17 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malton
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Tudor mansion set in extensive well maintained grounds, with 28 rooms, many with four post beds. Restaurant with choice of menus, and fully equipped bar. A wonderful venue for work, a holiday, wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Malton
The Old Lodge Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing