We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, comfortable room, friendly staff”
Review of The Wentworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wentworth Arms
Ranked #4 of 14 Malton B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, comfortable room, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Wentworth Arms and would highly recommend it is a place to stay in the area. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff welcomed us and were all very helpful, polite and friendly. Our evening meal was great - particularly the mushroom risotto and the mussels with bacon and cider - delicious. And such reasonable prices too! We were looking forward to breakfast and were not disappointed, excellent. The bar area was lovely for an evening drink and not at all loud. We will definitely stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    46
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
38
49
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

menu very limited menu sounded great but when food arrived disappointed tasteless fish very greasy ,local drinkers sat around the bar area difficult to get in to make payment for food there was also a drunken youth very loud and disturbing staff too young to deal with him !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Wentworth Arms is a lovely quaint building with beautiful Yorkshire surroundings.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, the food was delicious and the owners, staff and locals are a very friendly bunch. Totally end our stay.

Room Tip: If we are going by the room we stayed in and the conversations we had with the other guests I believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a lovely looking place from the outside but is let down by the quality of the food. The homemade chips and onion rings got a big thumbs up but the rest of the mains were a disappointment. I ordered the steak sandwich which comes with a creamy mushroom sauce - however the sauce was congealed and cold. Massive let down.....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice pub in Old Malton - about mile from Malton. The pub is on the main road but our room was at the back, overlooking a courtyard. The room'''s windows were high so not great views. It was very quiet and the bed was confortable. The room was ok; but the electric sockets were a bit dodgy and only one bedside light was working. The ensuite shower-room was ok. Choice of 4 cereals; standard cooked breakfast - freshly cooked. At £70 a bit over-priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night b & b to watch a concert in Dalby Forest. We were shown to our room by a young girl whom gave us a breakfast menu to fill in for the following morning. The room wasn't very big (must have drawn the short straw) but it was nice. The bed was so very comfortable and bedding was lovely and clean, as was the large bath sheets and towels, We had afternoon lunch, haddock, chips and mushy pea's, very well presented and taste gorgeous! Home made chips too. Breakfast was also very nice. The only gripe we had really was the windows were too high to look out of, we overlooked the beer garden/car park, and the soap dispenser above the bathroom sink, which my partner said was awkward to get a proper face wash and shave. Was a little noisy at night with traffic, but we did sleep with the windows wide open.
I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again, good location for most of the local attractions, and the beautiful Yorkshire Noors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicejude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in The Wentworth as we were going to the 60's Festival @ Pickering and it was in a good location for this. The host was welcoming. Our room was bright and airy and the shower was brilliant. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room. The breakfast was lovely and the host made sure we were topped up with tea, toast etc.
Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
6.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
7.0 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
223 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Cresswell Arms
The Cresswell Arms
#1 of 14 in Malton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth Arms

Property: The Wentworth Arms
Address: 111 Town Street, Malton YO17 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Malton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wentworth Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Wentworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Arms Hotel Malton
The Wentworth Arms Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing