We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to admire this hotel from the outside only”
Review of The Wentworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wentworth Arms
Ranked #3 of 14 Malton B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The exterior of the hotel is very nice - an ivy covered old building just off the main road with plenty of parking, but the interior is rather dreary and dated. The rooms have maintenance issues (including dangerous sockets) and the bathroom is pretty basic and has the smallest shower in the world!

The room was as bright as day by 5am because of the lack of lined curtains which didn't help the rather uncomfortable bed in getting a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrR0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

This pub is in the village of Old Malton about a mile from the main centre of Malton. We were warmly welcomed and shown our rooms. On first impressions the room looked quite nice but on further inspection there were a few problems. I sat on the toilet in the ensuite and when I leant to one side the whole toilet pedestal started to move and I almost ended up on the floor with the toilet. My friend who was also staying said that there was an unpleasant smell in his ensuite and the toilet seemed to be blocked and there was water bubbling up into the shower. There are signs that say they do have problems with the toilet system. The shower was the smallest I have ever seen and once you were in it there was no room to move at all to clean yourself.

The atmosphere in the main bar is pleasant enough and there was an open fire burning. We asked for the menu at around 8pm but they said that food was not being served any more and the chef normally finishes at 7pm. It seemed a bit early but kindly as we were residents they kept the chef on for us.

The breakfast in the morning was average.

Overall Old Malton is a quiet village and of the two pubs we tried The Wentworth Arms seemed to be the best one. The bar is comfortable and cosy. The rooms are adequate for one night but don't expect to stay in the ensuite for too long.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChimp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed some tasty meals during our visit. There was ample car parking space adjacent to the pub. Although it was evident that efforts had been made to create pleasant and modern accommodation, our room was a disappointment. We had a particular concern over an electric socket which was not securely fixed to the wall and problems with the bedside lamps. The en suite bathroom was shabby but the facilities could easily be updated. With some improvements this would be a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapreaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were camping nearby and it was tipping it down with rain. So we drove to the nearest pub we could find rather than go back to the tent and cook in the rain!! We thought this was a bit 'posh' when we went in, gorgeously cosy and friendly though, and it gets full marks for it's food and hand cut chips! Landlord is a big Man Utd fan, we were unfortunate to be there while they lost on the tv! Locals very friendly. Lovely pub!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amycafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

beautiful from the outside. Interior of bar lovely and quaint. THE SMELL terrible old fat ewww. room was very nice and bright. en-suite old and overused. very noisy plumbing. family room above a bar so children could not sleep until after midnight. fold down bed for my partner and i was horrible poles digging in our backs. I would never stay in this hotel again with this bed. the single beds were noisy too. i ended up sleeping in my sons bed. food was rubbish to be honest. i got home made stake pie ... it had no gravy. i had to ask for some. it was a crap pup lunch to be honest. breakfast was worse!! they take your order the night before and then warm your breakfast in the morning. it all tasted like rubber apart from my fried egg and the toast. they didnt tell us were breakfast was served. management seemed abrupt and unapproachable. young waitress was amazing she really worked her socks off.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 it was above the bar and just horrible for the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

"Delightful stay ...friendly hosts, good food and excellent value."

We stayed here on New Years Eve and what a lovely time we had.
The hosts made everyone so welcome, providing a free buffet and champagne to welcome in the New Year..
It is a lovely place ...the rooms were quaint and welcoming. The building is olde worlde yet with has all mod cons. The open fire in the pub just makes it so warm and inviting. The breakfast was well cooked and set you up for the day.
It was a lovely stay at this hotel and we can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed at the Wentworth Arms on 5th November in a double en-suite (£65). We were going to a wedding at the Old Lodge so the landlord allowed us to have our room a bit earlier than normal. Our friends stayed at the Old Lodge at £120 per room and were not allowed to have there room until 3pm (the wedding was at 1pm) but if they payed an extra £40 they could have the room earlier - if it was ready what was the problem. The breakfast at the Wentworth was lovely - cereals, juice etc. and good full english. Would go back again.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yvonne_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malton
0.9 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.8 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
698 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
4 mi away
The Cresswell Arms
The Cresswell Arms
#1 of 14 in Malton
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth Arms

Address: 111 Town Street, Malton YO17 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Malton
Price Range: $88 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wentworth Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Wentworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Arms Hotel Malton
The Wentworth Arms Malton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing