We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
99
69
31
31
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
99
69
31
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town old building poster bed large room car park selection of beers stayed here for one night comfortable rooms visiting family full english breakfast warm welcome pleasant stay high standard waterbed meal wedding landlord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 255 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

A beautiful quirky hotel rooms very clean and elegant with all the sqeaks, bangs and oddly routed stair cases you would expect from this very old building. The showers were to die for.This was a famil event we were by no means prepared for, my sisters wake. But every one at the Lion & Sean were amazing going over and above any of our requests or requirements.
We had the most precious but very hard time letting my sister go, but this was made much easier by all the staff at the hotel . We intend to make this an annual family get together at the Lion & Swan!
We would like say a massive and heartfelt thank to all? The chef ! The food was amazing, to Kerry manager Tunning round with planted, plans and food, the housekeeping ! Spot on and to Paula who was not only brilliant at looking after us but for a few minutes on Tuesday evening she became a massive support to me personally as I was falling apart! Not bad service from a hotel me thinks !!
Thank you all
Lesley

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank clarkie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Had a lovely early dinner here midweek - the service was good as was the food - it wasn't busy and we were served straight away- will definitely come back! It is in the middle of the town and has easy access both for a car and walking

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 518vivr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

My children and I recently stayed here while visiting family in the town. It was our second visit - we attended a wedding reception there in 2011 and also stayed then.
The building dates back to the 17th century so is full of lovely quirks typical of such old places; wonky walls and corridors, old fireplaces, beams, etc.
The beds are very comfy and warm, the rooms were adequately heated, although there is, of course, no double glazing, there was piping hot water on demand, any time of day.
Hot breakfasts were cooked to order very quickly during the week and tea, coffee, a range of cereals and toast were available in a self-service area. There was a hot breakfast buffet on the Sunday morning because the hotel was full.
All the staff we met during our stay were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. There was a problem with the TV (someone had switched the remotes between two rooms), which we mentioned on our way out on the first day, when we returned about an hour later, it had already been sorted.
Would not hesitate to recommend this place and it will be at the top of our list if we come back.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit-Mum-in-Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

A reasonable luncheon menu, good choice and the food was indeed tasty. It came quickly and served with a smile.
On the minus side, the food could have been much hotter (maybe the cold plate didn't help?) and the portions were a little on the small side.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is rather sad looking. Definitely could be doing with a fresh lick of paint.

Our room was nice but again tired and the bed was so squeaky! In fairness so was the floor and bathroom floor.

Breakfast was decent.

All the staff that I encountered were really nice and very attentive.

We had a pleasant stay but one night was enough.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sightseer616039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews