We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plough Inn(Congleton)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yew Tree Farm(Congleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
272
72
16
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
72
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely hotelsmall hotelboutique hoteldeluxe roomthe hotel is cleanthe young ladybed was very comfortablebaby showerlovely gardennothing is too much troublebusiness triplovely roomstayed here for two nightstown centrebreakfast was excellentsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 376 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2009

It is lovely to see in 2009 that real owner-operated hospitality still exists !! This hotel is is one of the best I have stayed in for a number of years. A delightful welcome, comfortable room (beds are REALLY comfy!), fabulous breakfast and second to none service.

Dinner was also to a very high standard, and it's great to see local ingedients being used. The owner talked to us during dinner, and we could have chatted all night, they really value their customers and offer a relaxed stay in beautiful surroundings.

We had breakfast on the patio on two days reading papers and enjoying the calm surroundings of a perfectly manicured garden ! The best thing about this hotel are the staff, nothing is too much trouble and they really go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We're definately going back and have already recommended it to numerous friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

a group of us booked this hotel to celebrate the 60th birthday of our family member. 6 of the group of 9 were residents staying the night. we finished dinner about half past eleven,we then went to the bar for a family get together . we could only have one drink at the bar because it was closed by a very unsociable member of staff at 12, which was very disappointing because the family had not been together for 4 years and we had been looking forward to it for several months. the breakfast menu was either full english or continental, however on ordering a continental we were told continental breakfast was not available because their supplier had not delivered. we found the staff extremely unhelpful and unfriendly and were left very disappointed by our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank margaretWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markslinger, general manager at The Alexandra Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2008

Dear Madam,
Im very sorry to hear that your stay was less than adequate, we do always try to exceed our guest expectations at all times.
The bar is closed a midnight as a standard and applies to every night without exeception, this is a policy and was not done to upset your group etc on the night .....we do also state this closure time in our email confirmation that is sent out to ever guest at the time of booking to make them fully aware of policies that are currently in place where possible.
I feel that your comments on the comments of staff may have been slightly harsh, as all my staff are friendly and professional at all times.

However on behalf of eerone at the hotel i would like to say sorry for any inconvience this may have caused and do hope that you return to our venue again in the future to fully experience our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occations and always had a fantastic time. The people who run the hotel also own its and it shows in the levels of care and the amount of effort they go to to make your stay a pleasent and relaxing as possible.

As other people have mentioned the property and decor is full of character and the food there is excellent, a proper english breakfast with qualty ingredients!

As a result of my experience I have recommended other members of my family and friends and I can't think of a higher recommendation than that!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JimJam74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The room that we stayed was good and clean, and it was nice and cosey,it suited our needs very well. The owner of the motel were lovely and very helpful. I have no regreats to introduce to all my friends here.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gkmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

An interesting building but strange experience. The hotel is run entirely on its own terms - customers come second. For example, no food (not even a bag of crisps) after 9.30pm; can't book a room before 9.30am. This is 2007!
Great showers, but overall, £80 not well spent.

Paul :Camberley

Stayed: February 2007
Thank Paul100Camberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews