We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable, good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alexandra Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable, good value hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at The Alexandra Court Hotel, Congleton - it really is a super hotel and I can't recommend it enough. We had a huge room with an enormous king bed, the room was warm and bright and it was spotless. There is ample parking and the service was excellent, specifically the very helpful staff on reception - and breakfast wasn't bad either. Its absolutely ideal for visits to the Peak District and surrounding football grounds and it is great value for money. This hotel is full of charm and character and I would recommend it to anyone visiting the Peak District - I know we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alison29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    64
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
110
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ilminster
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed one night whilst visiting friends, and found it to be just OK. We weren't made to feel particularly welcome, the restaurant was closed the night we stayed but we weren't told that you could order a limited selection of food anyway. The room was adequate, but I wouldn't call it a boutique hotel, as they describe it. Fine as a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rovingspringfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel,just spent one night here for a birthday night away from home and it was lovely.the room was spacious and clean as was the ensuite,all the staff were very friendly and helpful.we liked the idea of the pass keys to get in and out if the main entrance was closed.the bed was really comfy and even though we had the room which is next door to the kitchen it wasn't that noisy and we had a view of a courtyard and water fountain which was lovely.breakfast was nice freshly made to order.would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppypeanut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Service good, Rooms good, Catering (abysmal)

looks like I am not the only one to feel the need to warn others about this hotels appalling dining service. Not a place I would like to stay at in the near future, sadly. I did appreciate the staff who were very helpful and followed instructions and the room was also as I would expect.

But the biggest let-down was their restaurant service which was a JOKE. Firstly I have driven all the way up from a job in Milton Keynes through some nasty traffic, so really all I was looking for was something like a mixed grill or something like cod and chips before I turned in... simple stuff you would have thought, but not for this hotel.

My first impression was mixed, I was the only person there, which says a lot about the place, however the tables were very nice, and the interior décor was very splendid. But when I looked at their menu (http://www.thealexandracourt.com/#/a-la-carte/4557364491) I was disappointed about the overall lack of choice... secondly I questioned the waitress about the phenomenally priced steak dish (£25.99) as it had no weight advertised on it whatsoever. In the end she came back to me and said it was 8oz, which to me is shocking and outrageous, so quickly opted for something else.

I then asked for the Port Loin, but then after the waitress informed me they didn't have it. Sighing and almost deciding to dial a pizza, I bit my tongue and decided to go with the venison, which was available.

After waiting for what seemed like an eternity, my meal eventually arrived. I could instantly see this was one of those overpriced arty-farty places, where they like to make meals pretty, and decorate them with random [--] and charge extortionate prices for them.

Even the tiny bottles of coke were £1.70 each so after having one of those, I decided it would be prudent to ask for tap-water. I ate the meal as quickly as possible in order to get to my room fast, I really didn't enjoy the whole experience. I just wanted to get to bed.

Despite the issues with the pathetic restaurant, the room was otherwise fine, and the staff were helpful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless they decided to order pizza while they stay there. that should give them a little hint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markslinger, General Manager at The Alexandra Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sir

Firstly thank you taking the time to place a review, we appreciate any and all feedback

Im sorry you felt the food offering at the time of your stay was not to your expectations, im afraid due to your stay being just short of 12 months ago i may find it hard to investigate this matter further due to the extent of time lapsed until your review.
I am sorry that you did not agree with our pricing structure but all prices are clearly stated on menus and in the entrance to the restaurant, as are drink prices in the bar so it seems confusing you were not aware of the cost before ordering.
If you had requested a simple meal as you stated you wanted im sure we could have helped with that request, again if these issues are not raised at the time we cannot act on them and resolve them and its left to words on a website to try and resolve outstanding issues, we always prefer to have face to face communication with our customers where possible and i would have only too happy to talk to you at the time or shortly after to arrange a suitable solution for you.

Judging by the crossed out profanity and the statement of anger from you i can see this stay caused you great upset emotionally and again i would have preferred to deal with this at the time not a year later via a website but i am sorry for any stress or anger the menu choice or costings may have caused you, there are several eateries in the areas that serve a more standard food offering including a two for one pub that may have suited your requirements better, and again these would have been offered to you if asked rather the obvious torment of dining on site you suffered in the hotel.
I would be happy to answer any further related issues or questions directly with you by email or phone on 01260 297871 or markslinger@thealexandracourt.com

Mark Slinger - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A lovely little hotel. I had a room overlooking the garden. Comfortable bed and immaculate bathroom. Very friendly owners and a lovely breakfast in the garden in the morning. Excellent location if you want to see Little Moreton Hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at the Alexandra Court to celebrate 2 special birthdays. We were a party of ten adults and Catherine, Jodie and all the staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive. The private dining, organised by Christine, was excellent. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the atmosphere relaxed. Thank you to all for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Alexandra Court Hotel. It has been converted from an elegant historic house, and retains its beautiful garden. It is very good value for money (a full English breakfast is included) in lovely surroundings. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful, showing us personally to our room and telling us to call for anything we might need. The rooms are small, with too much furniture, but they are stylishly furnished in a manner which suits the historic building. Our room had a spacious en suite bathroom.
I was disappointed to see a negative and rude review of this hotel in a recent post.... it so clearly does not describe the Alexandra Court I can only assume it has been written in a deliberately malicious way. I hope other readers will ignore it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congleton
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
634 reviews
9.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
6.3 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Court Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Court Hotel
Address: 7 Newcastle Road, Congleton CW12 4HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay for business or pleasure at The Alexandra Court, our ethos is focused on delivering a fantastic guest experience, whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure.Choose from one of our 14 individually designed guest bedrooms, including one family room,where you will find elegant and considered design, with finishing touches and all modern amenities. Every guest room is unique in design and gives a 'home from home' feel.Breakfast is served in the Breakfast room and guests can choose from Full English Breakfast cooked to order or Buffet style .Drinks can be enjoyed in the bar and lounge with views over the landscaped gardens , the bar offers an extensive selection of spirits and wines. Perfectly located if visiting the area on business or pleasure The Alexandra Court is at the very heart of the Cheshire countryside ,in an idyllic , rural setting in the market town of Congleton with easy access to the bustling cities including nearby the Roman City of Chester, cosmopolitan Manchester and Liverpool. The stunning and contrasting landscape of the Peak District is only minutes away,with hills and country walks in abundance. Hotel visitors can explore the major tourist attractions including Jodrell Bank , Gawsworth Hall ,Moreton Hall and Alton Towers Theme Park are all located nearby , making The Alexandra Court the perfect base to explore this wonderful region.At a glance:•Sleeps up to 30 guests•Free Wi-Fi•15 En-suite bedrooms •Library and Wii games•Four bedrooms have reasonable wheelchair access•Outdoor play area•One family room•Beautiful Gardens and outside seating area•Lounge and Bar•Conservatory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alexandra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing