We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexandra Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel just for the one night. We were attending a wedding a mile or so down the road.It was an ideal location for this purpose. Our room (9) faced the back lawn so was nice and quiet. The room was a little crammed with furniture and the shower in the ensuite was tiny, but we were comfortable for the night. Staff were friendly and helpful and offered to book us taxis to and from the wedding.
Breakfast was a good meal and set us up for our onward journey to West Wales.
A good place for an overnight stay so location perfect for us. We did not, however, explore the area and so cannot comment on any local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude41045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    65
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
77
113
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this sat in my room here. In a chair by the window which overlooks the lovely garden. The room is very nicely decorated with individual pieces, nice wallpaper etc. I think this would be a lovely place to stay for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

4 of us 92 rooms) stayed in late May. The rooms were excellent, very good space really good quality fitting. The bathroom was a delight with loads of fresh clean towels.
We were met by I think the owners parents who were wonderful, loads of info on the area, directions to our restaurant and taxi bookings as well.
Breakfast was really good quality with loads to choose and freshly cooked. If you sta here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 4 with bath and shower was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
350 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a one night stay via a red letter day gift. Its very close to the town and was really clean, well decorated and had everything we needed for a really nice night away for two. The breakfast was lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Alexandra Court as part of my birthday celebration. It's ideally located between Little Moreton Hall and Quarry Bank Mill - that was the main reason for choosing this hotel. But what a find! We had a beautiful room - spacious and with the high ceiling that marks its status in its time. We didn't have dinner here as the non-carnivore options were rather lacking - but the breakfast was very good. The service was also very good - a small hotel with a big commitment to good customer service.

Room Tip: We found a good deal through Laterooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had booked into the hotel in connection with a wedding being celebrated nearby. We were made aware beforehand that we could not book in before 2.00p.m. which was after the service. However, facilities, albeit cramped, were made available for us to change and our luggage was left at reception for transfer to our rooms whilst we were away. We were also supplied with a key to allow us to gain access to the hotel should the reception go on beyond 11.00p.m..
The parking was a little tight. The garden area was delightful. Our room which looked over the rear garden was a little small for a double room and the shower area was tight and the flow light. However, the bed was comfortable and we were supplied with drink making facilities. We were told by other guests that other rooms were spacious and the beds quite large. The lounge area was comfortable with plenty of seating. Best of all was the breakfast which was sufficient to last us until teatime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here on way to a family event in congleton. We were disappointed by the receptionist who was very unwelcoming. We arrived early and didn't know if we could check in but presumed we could leave our luggage somewhere. She said first that it was "against hotel policy" to let people check in before 2pm which we thought was strange as all the hotels we have stayed in have said this but if the room is ready they let you check in. We then asked if we could leave our bags in there and come back, to which she then said it was because the cleaners were in there so we couldnt check in. She begrudgingly said we could leave our bags in the hall and "someone will sort them out for you later". Strange that as we walked out, she shot out behind us and drove off in her car (we obviously arrived at the end of her shift and maybe she didnt want to check us in?) The room was okay, very worn and old fashioned but clean (only given one bath towel for 2 of us which was annoying). Having said all this, the breakfast staff were lovely and the cooked breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congleton
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
649 reviews
9.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,120 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Court Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Court Hotel
Address: 7 Newcastle Road, Congleton CW12 4HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay for business or pleasure at The Alexandra Court, our ethos is focused on delivering a fantastic guest experience, whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure.Choose from one of our 14 individually designed guest bedrooms, including one family room,where you will find elegant and considered design, with finishing touches and all modern amenities. Every guest room is unique in design and gives a 'home from home' feel.Breakfast is served in the Breakfast room and guests can choose from Full English Breakfast cooked to order or Buffet style .Drinks can be enjoyed in the bar and lounge with views over the landscaped gardens , the bar offers an extensive selection of spirits and wines. Perfectly located if visiting the area on business or pleasure The Alexandra Court is at the very heart of the Cheshire countryside ,in an idyllic , rural setting in the market town of Congleton with easy access to the bustling cities including nearby the Roman City of Chester, cosmopolitan Manchester and Liverpool. The stunning and contrasting landscape of the Peak District is only minutes away,with hills and country walks in abundance. Hotel visitors can explore the major tourist attractions including Jodrell Bank , Gawsworth Hall ,Moreton Hall and Alton Towers Theme Park are all located nearby , making The Alexandra Court the perfect base to explore this wonderful region.At a glance:•Sleeps up to 30 guests•Free Wi-Fi•15 En-suite bedrooms •Library and Wii games•Four bedrooms have reasonable wheelchair access•Outdoor play area•One family room•Beautiful Gardens and outside seating area•Lounge and Bar•Conservatory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Alexandra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing