We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Yew Tree Farm(Congleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plough Inn(Congleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
271
72
16
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
72
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely hotelsmall hotelboutique hoteldeluxe roomthe hotel is cleanthe young ladybed was very comfortablebaby showerlovely gardenfull english breakfastnothing is too much troublebusiness triplovely roomstayed here for two nightstown centrebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 375 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Staying here while attending a wedding locally we were delighted by the charming room, stylish conservatory and excellent lunch/breakfast.
Staff were really helpfully and smiling.
It is rare to find a traditional yet quality hotel these days and with such competitive prices and high standards we would happily return there. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corkyyorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stumbled over this hotel whilst looking for somewhere to stay overnight whilst I attended a wedding locally. Customer service was excellent throughout from making the reservation to checkout. The young lady on reception when we arrived was superb and worked really hard showing us to our room, offering to carry anything, arranged drinks, took the lunch order - really professional. We had arranged to check in early for a nominal fee and this was honoured. I had tried some of the larger chain hotels, but no one would offer check-in before 3.00pm. Too late for attending a 2.00pm wedding.

The bedroom was spotless, and a reasonable size with good wardrobe space and lovely bathroom. The grounds are lovely and would themselves provide a good wedding location.

A great alternative to some of the larger hotels and worthy of more than its 3 star rating. Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was fabulous and very luxurious with loads of goodies to use and also white bath robes provided. We went on a cold weekend, and have to say that the room was a bit cold. The heating had been switched off and so we were unable to switch an individual radiator on. I rang reception and they said they would see to it, it did come on eventually but it was a few hours later.
The breakfast was lovely, but there wasn't a lot of room to move around between tables.
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is in a fabulous place beautiful bedrooms and bar area, stunning gardens. Very clean too.
But i have say the negatives too, not enough staff from checking to checking staff were very scarce. On checking in we were not told about getting back into the hotel in the evening, we arrived back just after 12pm after attending a family wedding near by and were greeted by a locked front door we were lucky the taxi driver told how to get in at the rear of the hotel, and yes the staff did know we were heading to a wedding for day so they knew we would not be back after we checked in.
Breakfast, well it was served until 10am we headed down around 9.15am, in plenty of time it took 10 mins to be asked what hot drink we wanted and then we were asked what we wanted for the english breakfast and when we had ordered we were told there would be a little wait we did not expect to wait 40 minutes for a simple breakfast. Also it seamed when each table got their breakfast no one had received what they had ordered items not present and items on their plates they had asked not to be. Also when it did arrive it was not the best breakfast and certainly not worth the wait at all, my partner and i actually left most of it. Dont let this put you off too much,just dont expect a great breakfast though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our son was married here (licensed for marriages), on friday the 10th August. The arrangements and organisation were first class, the meal was great, and the staff were really helpful, and the service most professional. The owner was on hand to make any last minute changes to schedule, and could not have been more helpful. The grounds were gorgeous to relax in, and have photos taken in them.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on rooms as we didnot stay over night, but the bride stayed on the Thursday night and said every thing was fabulous. Interesting library with information on the English photography scene early 1900's,owners father invented the lens shutter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews