We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and Comfortable - everything you need”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Haymaking time - view of Bosley Cloud and the historic 18th century 20 North Rode railway arches
The farm cows and calves enjoying grazing the lush and peaceful fields
The lovely River Dane and other streams run through the farm fields - great for picnics or fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TimandJul...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy and Comfortable - everything you need”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this superb cottage. As we entered the property we were greeted with an array of flowers - a lovely touch.The accommodation has been thoughtfully appointed with absolutely everything you need for a truly comfortable stay. The kitchen has been stocked with plenty of equipment and cleaning materials are also provided. Everywhere is immaculate and the hosts Brenda and Tom are extremely friendly and accomodating - we enjoyed a tour of the farm before we left and a quick cuddle with the new born lambs.

The cottage is very close to so many wonderful attractions in every direction - all less than an hour away. My 91 year old father, who was travelling with us, thoroughly enjoyed visiting the Avro Museum at Woodford which houses much aviation memorabilia and it brought back a few memories for him of WW2 and the Lancaster Bomber - we followed this with a good meal in the Cock and Pheasant at Bollington close by. With numerous National Trust properties in the area we were spoilt for choice - all very different. If visiting Biddulph Grange just be aware there are many steps in the garden, therefore not accessible for all. We also enjoyed some beautiful drives across the Derbyshire Dales/Peak District taking in some of the very pretty villages en route - Ashford-in-the-Water being a favourite.

We would thoroughly recommend staying here and if in the area we would certainly stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Many thanks for your very kind and detailed review - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Swallows Barn cottage. It was fortunate that you were able to see (and hold!) the newly born lambs on our farm during your stay. We would agree that there is a massive amount of places to visit and enjoy in this area and you certainly appeared to pack a lot in during your week's break. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we may see you again in the future. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments. We do pride ourselves on making the cottage as clean and welcoming as possible. We're pleased you enjoyed our area - there's so much to see and do around here. It would be nice to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Swallows Barn cottage. We take great pride in making it as clean, comfortable and homely as possible and it's lovely to receive such appreciative comments. Thank you for staying with us. Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you recognised the high standard of cleanliness that we input into the cottage and also the fact that this is a great central location for visiting numerous places - whatever the interests of the guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mcsprog
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is the second time we have stayed here, the cottage is lovely, very clean, well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Lovely and warm, plenty hot water. Brenda the owner is very nice, she happy to show the children the lambs and farm. Lots do do in the area and shops close by. Highly recommend and would be very happy to stay here again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for your review following your stay in our Swallows barn cottage. It was lovely to see you again and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay - particularly your trips to the nearby theme parks of Alton Towers and Drayton Manor Park - which I know you and your children all enjoyed. We hope you may be back for another holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SlugsandB...
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, well equiped, everything we needed.”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, beautifully decorated and furnished. So much thought has gone into layout and equipment and owners very helpful and friendly. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending to others and would happily rebook for another stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Swallows Barn cottage. It is very pleasing to hear that our aim to offer high standards is recognised and appreciated - and equally that the location is so central for all types of interests. We're very lucky to live in such a lovely area. and it would be lovely to welcome you back in the future. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We gain a great deal of pleasure to see our guests' children enjoying the farm animals, tractors and diggers. We're so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Benda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing