We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb standard”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Barn

Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Swallows Barn Cottage - an 18th century former cow shippon with corn loft on the first floor
Haymaking time - view of Bosley Cloud and the historic 18th century 20 North Rode railway arches
The farm cows and calves enjoying grazing the lush and peaceful fields
The lovely River Dane and other streams run through the farm fields - great for picnics or fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Congleton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annemarie...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb standard”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We recently stayed at Swallows Barn, just before Christmas and had a lovely few days in the area. The cottage is of a very high standard, with lovely oak beams and doors and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Brenda and Tom are very welcoming and obliging. we would definitely return. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
Many thanks for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed our 'Swallows Barn' cottage and that you appreciated the Christmas touches / decorations. kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancer193...
Wing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Swallows Barn is only bettered by the warmth of welcome from Brenda L. Past reviewers have described the cottage well, but nothing could have prepared us for the quality of the furniture and fittings. We felt like moving in!

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments - which recognised the care and thought that I put into the furniture and furnishings within Swallows Barn cottage. I'm so pleased that you appreciated them and thank you again.
best regards Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean C
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage with excellent facilities”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Swallows Barn for a week recently and it was like home from home with a well equipped kitchen and lovely ensuite bedrooms, one with a walk in shower. There is even a cloakroom downstairs. The dishwasher, a big bonus, was easy to work and the stairs easy to access. The cottage is well located for Cheshire and the Peak District and the owners, Brenda and Tom, were very welcoming.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We have taken a lot of pride in attention to detail within the cottage - both in terms of furnishings and fittings - but also in high standard of cleanliness and presentation. We are so pleased that you appreciated our efforts and enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
“A wonderful cottage and a great host”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a 10 day stay at this great cottage. Brenda and Tom have gone to great lengths to make this a wonderful place to stay. The place is beautifully furnished and meticulously clean and our reception on arrival from the USA was fantastic.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings are first rate
Liked least: There's nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Swallows Barn. Our aim is always to provide a high standard of comfort, quality furnishings and cleanliness and your recognition of these qualities is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you to stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. With best wishes, Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Swallows Barn. It was our pleasure to have you to stay and it seemed so strange when you left after your extended stay. We particularly missed the children walking round the farm and being so inquisitive - and enjoying sitting on the tractors and playing in the hay barn. It was fortunate that your stay coincided with lambing time so they were able to see and hold the new born lambs. We wish you well in your new home and life abroad. With kind regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amber705
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in. Well furnished and very comfortable.
Brenda had put a lot of effort into ensuring we had an enjoyable holiday.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and for affording our cottage a five star rating. Our consistent aim is to provide a high quality standard both in furnishings, fittings, cleanliness and customer service. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we may be able to welcome you back again in the future. best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I recently stayed in Swallows Barn cottage with my husband and 9-month old son and absolutely loved it. The cottage is so cosy and welcoming - a real home from home. It's been renovated to a very modern standard but still has lots of lovely original features. Brenda had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, even providing a cot and high chair. It felt so luxurious to have such cosy beds and two en suite bathrooms. Having the baby with us meant we couldn't really go out in the evenings but the cottage was so cosy we didn't mind that at all! And our son absolutely loved popping out the back door to see the sheep and cows on the farm! There's lots to see in the area and the cottage is a great base from which to explore. Would definitely like to stay again - it was a perfect family holiday!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was lovely to have you to stay with us - and your gorgeous baby was the 'smiliest' baby that we've ever met! We're so pleased that you enjoyed our cottage and also that you found our location to be the perfect base from which to explore our beautiful area. Whatever your interest and whatever direction - there's lots to see and do! We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Brenda & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing