We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New to the area recommended by our neighbours.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Horseshoe Inn

The Horseshoe Inn
Ranked #18 of 81 Restaurants in Congleton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New to the area recommended by our neighbours.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just moved into the area and so we getting to know where to eat out. The Horseshoe was recommended by our neighbours. Exactly as they described it..... good quality food, great atmosphere, friendly service. It was very busy and bar staff coped amazingly efficiently with the queue of customers waiting to be served. Really enjoyed our evening, especially the food which we chose from the specials board.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pub not a gastropub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Typical English country pub not a gastropub ! If it was in Ambridge it would be the Bull.
Food is very good just like the food your mother would make . The prices are extremely reasonable.Charles and Mary are always the same not like some difficult to handle pub lanlords and landladies and the staff are all greatOur grandaughters love it especially Mary's steak pire and cottage pie. Having visited many times I would point out that there is not always a tent outside,they are erected for parties; usually smokers sit in the fresh air.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 26suziem26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once visited you will return time and time again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely local pub full of charm with good menu and great beer. You will find friendly staff an immaculate pub serving good value food piping hot and plenty of it ,try the mixed grill if you dare .The pub is very often full so book to ensure a table. Good atmosphere in bar area well supported by the locals ,open fires in winter , loads of parking give it a try !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 940Porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An early evening meal with my hubby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Good food well cooked and reasonably priced. good service and pleasant staff. A bit noisy due to the early doors drinkers. Not keen on having to walk through smoke filled tent to leave the premises though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marje51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what it says on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Proper pub food in a proper pub. Homemade food, generous portions, good service. You are made very welcome, reasonable menu to cater for most requirements, freshly cooked food. This is not my choice for a special meal, but for lunch or dinner I have never been let down. Most tables taken on a Monday lunchtime tells you all you need to know.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe Inn also viewed

 
Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to The Horseshoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing