We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and hospitality”
Review of Reuben Stubbs - CLOSED

Reuben Stubbs
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and hospitality”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Myself and my husband were staying in Congleton for our anniversary and chose to eat at Reuben Stubbs on our first night, a rustic restaurant with lots of character. We had not booked and were advised we could have a table in about half an hour and were welcome to have a drink at the bar whilst waiting which we did. We looked at the menu and chose food from the specials board and a bottle of Sancerre wine. We were advised the last bottle had just sold so chose a Pouilly Fume instead which was beautiful (the whole wine list was excellent and unusual). We were shown to our table and not rushed at any stage which made the whole evening very relaxing and enjoyable. The food was absolutely amazing, I had chosen fillet steak with a stilton topping and the steak was cooked to perfection, rare, with a stilton topping which was not overpowering by any means (I have had problems at other restaurants). The owners and staff were the most friendly we have encountered in a while. We only wished we lived nearer the restaurant so we could try all the other menu options as we were spoilt for choice. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Could do with a revamp - but great food.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Always great homecooked food at a good value price.
Steaks, burgers, specials are all great.
Good chips and sides.
Waitresses are great - good service.

BUT desparately needs a bit of a menu shake-up (it's been the same for tenish years).
Very limited beer menu. Only one type of tea, one type of coffee. No kids drinks.
Restaurant in desperate need of redecoration - soooo tired.


Simpler menu. More modern /classic decor. More beers would get 5*

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Chef?”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we first arrived we felt that something wasn't right. We were 8 mins late for our booking, which yes I agree is not great. However, when the waitress looked at her watch when we gave our names, we already started to feel uncomfortable.
We were then asked to take a seat in the bar area. A few minutes later a waitress came over with a wine and food menu.
Some time later we were asked if we were ready to order, even though we were not at our table? This maybe how they do things here and it's just me that likes to be shown to my table first.
We were then told that non of the specials on the board were available, so we ordered the steak. Unfortunately it had to be sent back becuase it was over cooked. It was grey and looked broiled rather than seared. The waitress was actualy very good and polite and took them both back for a replacement explaining that the chef had not turned up for work and the manager was on holiday, so they had been left in the lurch and didn't know what to do!!
The next steak was better, although not great.
The young waitress with the dark hair (didn't get her name) was great and a real credit to the place. She was polite and really tried to make up for the situation (although nothing was offered against the bill). There was one waitress who did not make us feel welcome and is not a great front of house representative, again, we did not get the name but she was the only one not dressed all in black.
We were really dissapointed overall as this was the first time we had tried this place in the 12 months we have lived here. We understand if they had problems that night and being without a chef cannot be easy however, It maybe could have been handled better.
Not sure we will give them another try just in case that also goes wrong, which is a real shame cause we eat out every weekend and need more places to go in Congleton!
Sorry guys but just being honest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelswerehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette K, Owner at Reuben Stubbs, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Having owned this family business for nearly 25 years we have never been left in the situation we were in on the Saturday evening that you visited us. We as a family were all away together following my father's death a few days earlier (not on holiday although the waitress was perhaps right not to give out such details). Our head chef for a reason still only known to himself decided to let the entire team down by not turning up for work. As I am the person who would normally replace him in the kitchen when he is off the remaining kitchen staff had to cope as best they could. We would have closed the restaurant but already had reservations booked in. We therefore opted for damage limitation by removing the specials for the night and just working from the a la carte menu which the two remaining chefs tried to do to the best of their ability.
We very very rarely get steaks sent back, all I can think is that the grill chef who was trying to cover mains as well over cooked your steak under the pressure of the evening and it was not up to his usual high standard for which I apologise
Please do not let this put you off trying us again. As you can see we normally get good reviews on Tripadvisor and the staffing situation has now been rectified. If you make yourselves known to myself or James we will ensure that you are well looked after including being seated at your table before your order is taken. We have some customers who like to sit at the bar, have a drink and their order taken before going to the table and others like yourselves who prefer to go to their table. We can accommodate both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's always a pleasant night out in this restaurant .the food is freshly made and the chunky chips are the tops as is the nachos there a meal in themselves .. The wine list is amazing and if your not sure what drink to go with your meal the owner James will recommend one he's never failed and I've loved every wine .. A good all rounder to enjoy with friends or just the two of you. Look out for the wine taster nights they are supposed to be fab I will try to go to the next one...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pizza and Pasta Wednesdays”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

'Reubens' is our local informal bistro.... the food is always great and the menu changes on a regular basis. Wednesdays, at the moment, is pizza and pasta night, buy one get one free. You can mix and match too.
Great value, great food. Ask for a thin base pizza, large size, you won't be disappointed! James and Annette, the long term owners, also have a great selection on wines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avrialredfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben Stubbs also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing