We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of thailand in Cheshire”
Review of Bangkok Thai

Bangkok Thai
Ranked #21 of 83 Restaurants in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little piece of thailand in Cheshire”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bangkok Thai in Congleton is a great little find. In an unassuming corner position in the centre of the attractive town, a delightful menu greats you.
Don't be put off by the external look of the building which is peppermind green once inside you will really enjoy your dining experience.

Service is great, the menu well priced and above all the food of a very high standard with some very nice flavours. It is one of the few restaurants of it's type to boast '5 stars for Food Hygience' and this is a strong credit to the team both front of house and in the kitchen.

Great food. Great service. Great meal out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CME_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food with a smile”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place been a few times food is always good and service always very welcoming!

Only problem is its not busy enough! People give it ago!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dancole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Savour every bite”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Last minute decision to eat in Congleton and saw that this was #1 on Tripadvisor. Since we'd never visited we decided to give it a go as we were bored of other regular haunts. OMG why haven't we been here before? The experience was first class, with unobtrusive, polite service and food taste and quality of a standard that you don't expect in Congleton. We shared the mixed starter and it was superb with 5 vastly different dishes with 3 dips that altered each mouthful in a delightful way. Main courses were equally impressive, I had the duck with red curry from the chefs recommended menu and it was fantastic. The wife had a sweet and sour which had a nice kick to it not like Chinese s&s. 4 beers and the bill was £50, not the cheapest but fantastic value considering the quality and service. Will we go back - too right, counting the days!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyFish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty Thai food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First time visit to this Thai restaurant in Congleton on a Wednesday evening. The food was superb - lots of choice. I had the sweet and sour stir-fry with duck, which was incredibly tender. The others in my group had noodles, pad Thai, green curry, which they all agreed were very tasty. The house wine is also very reasonably priced. All beautifully and politely served. This place deserves its 1st place listing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alba999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our first visit to this well-run restaurant. Good, freshly cooked food. A good choice, including a fixed price "early bird" menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnC776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai also viewed

 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Bangkok Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing