We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fastest curry ever!!!”
Review of Purple Pakora

Purple Pakora
Ranked #14 of 84 Restaurants in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fastest curry ever!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went on the off chance there would be table. Excellent and efficient service in pleasant surroundings. Enjoyed the food too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    78
    22
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best curry house in congleton”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This curry house in my opinion is the best in Congleton. The service is good, nice atmosphere, very trendy and Moz is very friendly and dosen't forget a name.
You can get the usual curries but they also do different ones and if you want something not on the menu they will do if for you.
Try it I will be surprised if you are disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doris7941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our first visit to the PP in Congleton. Whilst in our opinion it is not quite as good as Shaad (also in Congleton) we will certainly return in the near future.
We chose the set meal 'Banquet' at £13.95. For this you get plentiful popadoms and chutneys, a well presented but somewhat bland starter of bhaji, kebab, something in mushrooms, and salad, massive nann bread (although it is presented on a strange upright holder and so goes cold very quickly, rice and a choice of curry. The quantities are very good except for the rice which was rather small.
Service is fast and very friendly, with your waiter able to offer advice and tweak your order to taste.
Downsides? Well, we had the table next to the window. Unfortunately this meant that we could see the drunks staggering out of the pub next door and in one case being sick on the pavement. It also meant that the staff couln't get round one side of the table so we had to help pass plates etc to and from the staff.
Finally, if the PP is aware of a special occassion they make a little bit more fuss of you and play Happy Birthday! A nice touch.
Finally, thev decor is what you'd call modern comtemporary, so if you like your curry house to be sitar music and Bollywood this might not be the place for you.
Recommended, with just a few areas for improvement.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok food but too noisy!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Thursday evening before Good Friday with family and elderly parents. The restaurant was already quite busy by 7.30, but continued to fill up with large groups of men. The waiter was keen for us to have the banquet as I guess the food is already prepared, which we did. The service was good and the food was delivered hot and fairly quick to the table. It was just the noise created by the large groups which was deafening, glad to get out for some piece and quiet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelatweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yum yum”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

if you wont a good curry, then thats the place u wont to b at,good food good atmosphe good service, best coleslaw ever i have never been given coleslaw with a curry b 4

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank babychico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Pakora also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Purple Pakora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing