We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old fashioned Food in charming surroundings !”
Review of Egerton Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Egerton Arms
Ranked #38 of 83 Restaurants in Congleton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned Food in charming surroundings !”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great little pub on the outskirts of Congleton, offers great old fashioned and traditional food at good prices.
The fish and chips should be re-named the whale and chips !! Huge fish which is very nice too!!!
Been here lots of times and it never has failed to fill hungry people !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    6
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I, my wife and three other family members went to the Egerton Arms for our annual Christmas Meal. This was the second successive year we have been here having has such a good time last year.
Once again the occasion was very enjoyable. The atmosphere was pleasant and warm with the log fire lit and all around the diners were also having a cheerful time.
The food was well prepared and brought to the table quickly and presented to us all professionally and with a smile. The staff made you feel welcome and checked that everything was okay with the meal.
The food was very enjoyable and the starters and main meals were not only good in quality but also in quantity. I was a little annoyed with myself that I could not finish my turkey but was too full to try.
All in all a very enjoyable night out with a good venue in a lovely area.
Will certainly be going back again in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJackson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Yet another excellent meal and service, always a joy, visit friends in Somerford and always enjoy our visit to the Egerton Arms

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunbedLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Class Country Inn”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Fabulous welcome from Alan and Grace, who are true professionals. Accommodation is first class and well above expectations from a country inn.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andypear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Got fantastic last minute deal”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Phoned on the morning, got £10 discount on four poster bedroom.Very impressed with room, very clean with private bathroom and shower. Staff were all friendly.Booked a table for restaurant,glad we did as very busy. Food in restaurant was excellent.Land lady was very attentive at all times. We had starters of chicken liver & port pate,salt n pepper chicken wings which melted in your mouth,main course we had haddock & black pudding fishcakes and sirloin steak,both excellent, followed by galaxy ripple sundae & toffee & banana sundae,both delicious. Husband enjoyed trying all the real ales.Breakfast was served till 9am, if we had choice would have preferred it a bit later. Choice of cereal, with orange juice,coffee or tea,followed by a full english breakfast,cooked to perfection.Was told to check out for 10:30am,again would have preferred slightly later. Would definately go back,hope the weathers better next time so we could sit out in the garden.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julieroberts84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egerton Arms also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Egerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing