We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of room at the top - CLOSED

room at the top
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: cafe, homemade excellent food, within converted mill
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wife and I popped in for a quick bite to eat during a shopping run in Congleton. Served quickly and the menu selection exceeded our expectations. Food was brilliant, homemade and tasted like it was prepared by someone who actually gives a damn about what goes into a dish and onto the dish. My curry was as good as any local Indian and the wife's all day breakfast left my mouth watering to return soon to order my own. Next time in Congleton give the fast food plastic sandwiches & pies a miss and head up for a homemade meal at the Room at the Top.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 678mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
812 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Lunchtime treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Open only mornings and lunchtime, this restaurant seems to be increasingly popular, and we only arrived just in time to claim the last table. We were advised there would be a delay before we were served. The wait was worthwhile. Good variety on the menu and interest on the specials board. We both chose different curries. The homemade chutney was excellent. Unfortunately there was no Nan bread left but my large glass of wine was on the house as compenstation. Service was friendly, the food excellent and the bill modest. All this and floors of antiques to browse. We shall be going again but will arrive a little earlier.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been several times to Room at the Top but just had a coffee. Lovely cup and free refill. Very good value for money.

Last week we decided on the spur of the moment to have lunch. We had the hot special of the day which was chicken and mushroom pie. Very tasty with beautifully prepared vegetables. It all tasted like someone had actually made it rather than the mass produced food you get in many outlets these days.

The portions were not huge so possibly not so good for a big appetite but we enjoyed the experience very much.

We would not hesitate to recommend Room at the Top.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went just before Christmas and it was busy. Lovely lunch. Well prepared and reasonable prices. The restaurant is licensed. I would recommend this place to anyone. Pity it is only open in the morning and for lunch

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Visit Room at the top at the Victoria Mill Antiques Centre, Congleton and you won't be disappointed. The food is fabulous (especially Sunday lunch), the service is excellent and you get value for money. The restaurant is in a lovely room at the top of the mill and is very relaxing. What more could you ask for? (Well...you can also look around the antiques centre and the artist's studios as welll...so a bonus!).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed room at the top also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing