We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting Nice Food Poor Service”

Nobanno Lakeside Indian Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 85 Restaurants in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Setting Nice Food Poor Service”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nabonno is in a wonderful location overlooking Astbury Mere. It could be rural america. The food is also very good. The big let down was the awful service. A middle aged couple with no sense of urgency whatsoever seemed to be the only staff on. Despite it being about a quarter full it took an age for each course, including a good ten minutes between the poppadum accompaniments and the poppadums.
If it wasn't for the agonisingly slow service it would be 5 star.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnp1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food but service is lacking.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Went for a birthday so there were 11 of us and the waiter was very scruffy in appearance and so slow to serve us. The food was great for everyone and good value but this place needs a freshen up and the owners need to smarten up their staff as it is off putting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickClarke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious!! Couldn't fault anything at all. Well worth a visit!!

Food was piping hot & very tasty. Staff were attentive & helpful. Will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorty69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are some very good restaurants in Cheshire serving Indian cuisine but Nobanno's in Congleton is without doubt the best. My family have been quite a few times and have never been disappointed.

You'll find Nobanno's restaurant at Astbury Mere, Congleton. By car, it is accessed off the Newcastle Road. The retaurant itself resembles a log cabin, it has a large car park and is situated on a hillside with stunning views over the lake.

On our latest visit it was a beautiful evening so we took advantage of the warm setting Spring sunshine and sat outside with our drinks whilst we waited for our food - very relaxing watching the world pass by! Before we knew it, our meals were ready - as usual, the quality of food was first class (and plenty of it!), the service was friendly and prices were reasonable - what more could you ask for? If you haven't been yet, all I can say is that you are missing a treat.

TIP. If you are there on a Monday or Thursday (i.e.Thali nights), try their wonderful Thali (a selection of various Indian dishes) - beautiful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diolchynfawriawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Individual Indian Cooking”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I reviewed this place previously and have been back for a meal twice in the past month. The standard of Indian cooking in Congleton is high and there is much competition. I must say that this restaurant is now firmly my favourite. The service is good and the staff friendly and efficient. But, most importantly, the food is top notch. You may have to wait a little longer for the main course but this is because it's being prepared from scratch. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobcat901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobanno Lakeside Indian Restaurant also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Nobanno Lakeside Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing