We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”
Review of Happy Garden

Happy Garden
Ranked #29 of 84 Restaurants in Congleton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Went with several friends. The food was ok generally but the service slow. One friend who is known for their generous tipping declined to leave anything which was a measure. Main problem was that due to the layout the noise from large groups in close proximity to us meant we had to ask to change tables. The layout reminds me of a school dining room and does nothing to promote the place which is a shame. Have not been back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    14
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for takeaway, sit in = not value for money”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Take-aways from here are sooo scrummy 5* rated, but the extra charge you get for sitting in (though is expected) .. you should expect the same standard as a take away if not a little better; but no you get less for your money.

Tiny portions of rice leave you feeling greedy for ordering 2 portions per person (at a higher cost than the takeaway portion where one portion of rice is more than enough.)
Also..
The large fish tank in the waiting area - could someone not just clean the thing occasionally? I saw one fish rubbing his fins on the glass to get a look at the world! C'mon!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, OK service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I came here on the 5th of August for a birthday and it was good. As soon as you sat down they asked for your drinks and came round with menus and complimentary prawn crackers. However once your food was ordered, there is a long wait coming. It took forever for the food to come but it did eventually and was very nice. A bit pricey but they are big portions. Overall great atmosphere, nicest Chinese in Congleton

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As quite a few other customers have said, the food came out in bits, the mains I had ordered never arrived and the staff were plain rude!
I had to ask the waitress to clear our starters, over 20 minutes after we had all finished. When I asked where my mains were, over 25 minutes later, I was rudely told that the manager had seen the starters cleared "not long ago".
Needless to say we left, and shall not be returning. Bad service, bad attitude and bad management.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pips-mammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rubbish, don't bother.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for years, unfortunately tonight is the last time. The service was truly appalling, table booked for seven o'clock, they managed to bring drinks after waiting 20 minutes. Starters appeared in dribs and drabs, so none of us ate at the same time. Had to ask for children's starters twice.(we were a family group of ten.) Cleared up our own starters crockery, staff clearly disorganized and disinterested. At eight thirty we gave up and paid for drinks and starters, at which point we were told our mains were coming, I think not!!
If you like poor service from surly staff this is the place for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillincheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Garden also viewed

 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to Happy Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing