We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaad - CLOSED

Shaad
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice looking place, bit out of the way if you are wanting to go into town afterwards. Curry exceptionally average. Definitely no wow factor. Slightly over-priced. Better places to eat curry locally than here.

Best take-out curry ever has to be Bear Town Spices in Congleton, think Shaad should take a leaf out of there recipe book!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Be having meals out here and takeaways for the past few years and the food has always been top notch.
Excellent Staff and very clean establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Relaxing enjoyable meal served by very pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have never been dissapointed with our meal at the Shaad. It is the indian of choice in Congleton for us. We visited early evening with friends. It was busy and lots of atmosphere. We find it a pleasant quieter place than the purple pakora. The food was really nice and there is an excellent menu with wide variety of choice, too many to choose. The staff are always pleasant and attentive. We have taken various friends over the recent times and they all have requested that we go again., and so we do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

visited a few times over the years. always been satisfied. Why do this type of restaurant start good and then allow standards to drop???. During last visit ordered 3 mains,and because it was the early bird special got 2 x free pilau rice and naan. For some reason the naan was in several pieces and did not taste soft and fresh, its as if it had been salvaged from leftovers and put on a plate. The rice was stuck together like it had been standing for a while. Mains tasted OK. Main courses and drinks are expensive here so would expect a lot more, and maybe others have noticed because place was virtually empty. Sorry but i will not be visiting here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ststephens97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sunday night set meal is great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went with family and the service was great, as was the food and we just could not eat it all. On a Sunday they have a set meal meal that includes, popadums, massive choice of starters and mains, a side dish and naan or rice for 10 pounds!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MickClarke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaad also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing