We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bulls Head? perhaps not again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulls Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Congleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bulls Head
Ranked #12 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Bulls Head? perhaps not again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I changed one of the nights we needed to stay up north to visit my Father in Law and as the Travel lodge we had booked didn't have the other night free, we needed a room to stay for 2 nights at short notice. So found the Bull's Head on Late rooms for the same price as the Travel lodge.

Considering we were paying the same as the Travel Lodge I was disappointed to find a rather strange smelling pub, its decor stuck in the 70s/80s and in dire need of TLC! Our room had a broken mirror on the wardrobe door, the suspended ceiling tiles were stained and one of the side lamps didn't work. Some of the channels on the TV had no sound or couldn't be found and the noise outside from people's loud voices was a pain especially as it was hot and we had to have the windows open.

Still, in its favour, the bedding was clean, towels nicely presented, the room was cleaned and bed made super quick the next morning whilst we were having breakfast. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was huge for the price of £5 each!

I wouldn't stay again because of the tired and rather damp smelling building, for the same price the Travel lodge would have at least been modern. However I wouldn't say never if it was necessary to find something at very short notice and this is due to the friendliness of the staff, but it would have to be an absolutely necessary stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    6
    5
    15
See reviews for
3
20
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

had a good stay here welcome was great break fast tremendous i would recommend
this hotel to any one the parking was easy right on site the personnel from the bar staff to the owner were very helpful and pleasant cant falt them at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was recommended to us by a friend whose wedding we were attending. Booking in was shambolic, over the bar, no privacy. The "landlord" tried to make us feel welcome and was helpful in booking a taxi to the event. We were told about the music going on into the early hours, which was fine, and as residents we could drink pretty much as long as we liked if we wanted to. On entering our room, the lights didn't work so the man who booked us in came into the room and showed us where the main lights were, which took forever to throw some light out as they were all energy saving bulbs. There was a bedside lamp with a broken shade, which the cleaner clearly knew about as it had been gingerly placed on the top of the frame. There was also a lamp by the mirror which didn't work. The window had been left open so the room was freezing. We managed to get it shut only to find the radiator in the room didn't work. Neither did the radiator in the bathroom. I went straight to the bar to ask the man who booked us in to come back up and have another look. He couldn't get it working either. We had to resort to opening the door to the corridor to try to get some heat in there while we were getting ready. We returned after the wedding about midnight and at some time after 2 my daughter went to the bar for a drink. She was refused and told to "f**k off". I went to the bar and asked to speak to the manager, and low and behold, the same aggressive man returned. We explained to the real landlord and his wife what we had been told when we booked in and there seemed to be confusion over who this other "landlord" was. As neither had been around they wouldn't have known we were residents but really, is this our problem? We again told them about the room being freezing and to their credit a heater was put in our room by the time we got back there. All in all this is probably one of the worst places I've ever stayed at. The corridors and rooms were dingy and rundown, the abuse by the landlord unforgiveable. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Congleton hotels

Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed one night, Dirty, stank of smoke, ceiling tiles filthy and falling down, broken glass on wardrobe no sound on tv, side lights didn't work. Sub standard room. Music literally shaking you in your bed, absolutely terrible accomodation.

Room Tip: go to travel lodge or premier inn. You won't get taxi or trains on a sunday either
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Me and a mate decided to go back to the bulls head during the Xmas break just as a change of scene, As the last time I'd stopped there was a real great time, friendly,welcoming and not forgetting excellent food and of course mighty fine beer. Not disappointed again as the service,room,food,beer was bloody bang on.the staff and the owners are really a great team and even the regulars make you feel like your a regular EXCELLENT HOTEL
A BIG BIG thanks to all the staff ,regulars and especially our hosts Pat n Pppppauline
Hope to be down again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ate here a while ago on a Groupon deal. Offered the full menu to choose from, no restrictions. The food was absolutely lovely, the pub was clean and tidy and the hosts very welcoming. What more can I say. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the Bulls Head at the beginning of December with a group of friends & had a great time! We received a very warm welcome from Pat & Pauline & all the staff were friendly & efficient. Dinner & breakfast were both delicious. The family room was spacious with very comfortable beds & a plentiful supply of tea & coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed the Saturday night disco - the music suited all ages & we danced the night away. Hopefully we will make this an annual event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Congleton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion & Swan Hotel
The Lion & Swan Hotel
#7 of 12 in Congleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Egerton Arms Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Whitethorn Farm Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 12 in Congleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
HP Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 12 in Congleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Property: The Bulls Head
Address: 4 Mill Street, Congleton CW12 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing